book cover of The Lake Effect

The Lake Effect

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
A funny, bracing, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything

lake effect | n.
1. The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas
2. The effect of elderly ladies, mysterious girls, and countless funerals, in upending your life, one summer at the beach

It's the summer after senior year, and Briggs Henry is out the door. He's leaving behind his ex-girlfriend and his parents' money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches, working a summer job as a personal assistant, and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the shore. It's the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents one day when he's a multi-millionaire. But then he gets there. And his eighty-four-year-old boss tells him to put on a suit for her funeral.

So begins a summer of social gaffes, stomach cramps, fraught beach volleyball games, moonlit epiphanies, and a drawer full of funeral programs. Add to this Abigail, the mystifying girl next door on whom Briggs's charms just won't work, and "the lake effect" is taking on a whole new meaning.

Smart, funny, and honest, The Lake Effect is about realizing that playing along is playing it safe, and that you can only become who you truly are if you're willing to take the risk.

"Vibrant and smart . . . Perfect to tote around on vacation."
- Bustle
"Every word glows with brilliance."
- Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World
"Dazzlingly hilarious . . . Erin McCahan is the reigning queen of summer YA reads."
- PopSugar
"Observant, sarcastic, compelling, and very funny." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Summer romance at its best."
- HelloGiggles
"
The perfect smart, beachside read. . . . Unforgettable."
- Stephanie Elliot, author of Sad Perfect
"Elegant and touching." - Publishers Weekly
"Refreshingly honest and real. . . . An absolute must-read." - Elise Allen, co-author of Elixir
"Funny and poignant." - PureWow
"Thought provoking - and at times hilarious . . . A great summer read."
- SLJ

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Praise for this book

"Refreshingly honest and real. Every one of Erin McCahan's characters rings perfectly unique and true--you'll laugh with them, struggle with them, and seriously hate to leave them when the book is over. An absolute must-read." - Elise Allen

"The perfect smart, beachside read. This is an unforgettable story about a boy who thinks he's got his future figured out, and a girl who knows what she wants but is scared to get it. The Lake Effect will pull you in like the waves of the lake and won't let you go until the last satisfying page." - Stephanie Elliot

"The rare book that fills you with delight from the first page to the last. The Lake Effect is funny and witty and a little bit sad and every word glows with brilliance." - Francisco X Stork


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Erin McCahan's The Lake Effect

Hardback Editions

July 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lake Effect
Author(s): Erin McCahan
ISBN: 0-8037-4052-2 / 978-0-8037-4052-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lake Effect
Author(s): Erin McCahan
ISBN: 0-14-750960-2 / 978-0-14-750960-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Speak
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lake Effect
Author(s): Erin McCahan
Publisher: Dial Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU