book cover of Winter\'s Orbit
Added by 8 of our members

Winter's Orbit

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
'A chilling account of a dark past wrapped in the warm blanket of a promising future . . . A pleasure to read' Ann Leckie

'A stunning new space opera debut' K. B. Wagers

The Iskat Empire rules its vassal planets through a system of treaties - so when Prince Taam, key figure in a political alliance, is killed, a replacement must be found. His widower, Jainan, is rushed into an arranged marriage with the disreputable aristocrat Kiem, in a bid to keep rising hostilities between two worlds under control. But Prince Taam's death may not have been an accident, and when Jainan himself is a suspect, he and Kiem must navigate the perils of the Iskat court, solve a murder, and prevent an interplanetary war . . .

'Has everything you could ask: impossible choices, divided loyalties, dry wit . . . charming slow-burn romance, and an adventure in space politics' A. K. Larkwood

'Dazzling . . . Its characters stayed with me long after I raced through the last chapters' Aliette de Boddard

Everina Maxwell's debut is a space opera with high-stakes multi-world politics and irresistibly engaging characters, perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet. Find her on Twitter at @av_stories

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"A dazzling and comforting story of galactic politics, healing and romance. Its characters stayed with me long after I raced through the last chapters." - Aliette de Bodard

"Everina Maxwell's writing has everything you could ask: impossible choices, divided loyalties, dry wit, and operatic struggle with bureaucracy. I don't know how she's managed to write a book that's simultaneously an elegant comedy of manners, a charming slow-burn romance, and an adventure in space politics, but whatever her secret, I'm wildly envious." - A K Larkwood

"Delightful! Winter's Orbit is a chilling account of a dark past wrapped in the warm blanket of a promising future. It was such a pleasure to read." - Ann Leckie

"Winter's Orbit manages the incredible feat of being the slow burn 'sad spaceboys in love' romance of your dreams, while also being a gripping political thriller. Maxwell has built a deeply-layered and fascinating universe filled with alien tech, complex imperial politics, and perilous intergalactic diplomacy. I stayed up all night reading, desperately rooting for Kiem and Jainan to finally hold hands and save the day." - Lina Rather

"Everina Maxwell is brilliant at creating atmosphere and drama. Her light touch and considering eye are applied thoughtfully, warmly, and yet without mercy to the failures of an interstellar bureaucracy and the people who both make those failures happen; to the difficulties of diplomatic ties between planets that rely on personal ties between human beings; to the ways people try to get what they want from each other, and the ways they fail to understand each other. The combination of sweeping space opera backdrop and real human drama is as compelling as it comes." - Emily Tesh

"A deftly woven tale of political intrigue, all with a galactic treaty on the line. Maxwell's Winter's Orbit is a stunning new space opera debut, striking with all the skill of a master staff wielder. I hope there is more Kiem and Jainan to come!" - K B Wagers

"A captivating love story with engaging characters, wrapped around a murder mystery with high-stakes multi-world politics. Winter’s Orbit reminds me in the best way of the Vorkosigan series by Lois McMaster Bujold. I can’t wait to see what Maxwell does next!" - Martha Wells


Similar books by other authors

thumb
A History of What Comes Next
(Take Them to the Stars, book 1)
Sylvain Neuvel
thumb
Crimson Phoenix
(Victoria Emerson, book 1)
John Gilstrap

Hardback Editions

February 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Winter's Orbit
Author(s): Everina Maxwell
ISBN: 1-250-75883-1 / 978-1-250-75883-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

February 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Winter's Orbit
Author(s): Everina Maxwell
ISBN: 0-356-51588-5 / 978-0-356-51588-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

February 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Winter's Orbit
Author(s): Everina Maxwell
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon   


February 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Winter's Orbit
Author(s): Everina Maxwell
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Winter's Orbit
Author(s): Everina Maxwell
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


February 2021 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Winter's Orbit
Author(s): Everina Maxwell
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon CA