book cover of Harvest


(The second book in the The Crossing series)
A novel by

HARVEST - continues Richard and Billy's stories which begun in The Seeds of Time. Billy returns home and marries his love, while Richard has to make a decision between the two beautiful women in his life. Richard discovers he is torn between love and duty.

In Sorrel he finds what he believes is his soul-mate, whereas sexy Miranda keeps Richard guessing. When Richard discovers an old war-torn photograph of a woman and two children he is shaken to the core. What was it his father did & never divulged to his wife and family? Harvest is a world where tragedy rests alongside joy. Harvest deals with harsh, cruel, and often despicable conditions - at the same time describing the indestructibility of love in past and present lives. This is a story of deep romance, bravery, survival, heartbreak and happiness, all poignantly and convincingly conveyed. Richard's compelling desire to finally lay his father's dark secrets to rest brings warmth and understanding into the two intertwined stories. All perfectly blended with non-stop action, intriguing locations, and appealing characters.

Reviewers say;... "If you like adventure, excitement, romance and suspense then this book is for you!"

Review snippets from The Seeds of Time, Book one.

Isn't it comforting to pick up a book by a favourite author and have confidence that you are going to enjoy their book? Faith is one such author. My confidence is always justified... This was a departure from her other books I've read, which feature her glamorous amateur sleuth, Diana Rivers. This was quite, quite different and represents the diversity of talent Faith has...

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review, and I'm so glad that I accepted. After suffering a devastating loss, Richard Barker comes to terms with his grief with the help of two beautiful but vastly different women. Dark and compelling, The Seeds of Time is a must read.

Faith asked me to read The Seeds of Time, which is a rewrite of The Crossing. I was a little hesitant because I already knew the story and thought how can you better a gripping story? Wow and I mean WOW! I should not have worried because the new chapters and the changes have made it a more powerful story. I really felt that I was there with Billy and Nat in the POW camp. I also like how the book ends; you just want the next book so that you can carry on with the story.

You'll find Faith Mortimer's new book absolutely delightful. She has picked up on her strength and talent for exploring the state of ever-changing, ever-fascinating human condition and capacity for emotional growth to produce a veritable masterpiece.

Faith Mortimer is best known for her Diana Rivers mysteries. Here she shows us another side with an involving story of two generations wedded to the sea. Richard takes on the challenge of crossing the Atlantic with a small crew. Billie, his father, served in WW2 in Motor Torpedo Boats and was captured as a prisoner of war. Their two intertwined stories are told with great warmth and understanding.
What I think is particularly notable - and what is true of all of Faith's writing - is the great talent she has for description as well as story-telling. In 'The Seeds of Time', this is revealed in the wonderful, vivid descriptions of the peril and beauty of being at sea with all the dangers this involves.

Genre: Thriller

Used availability for Faith Mortimer's Harvest

Kindle Editions

July 2012 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Harvest (The Crossing Book 2)
Author(s): Faith Mortimer
Publisher: Topsails Charter, Southampton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU