book cover of The Whisperer
Added by 1 of our members

The Whisperer

(2009)
(The first book in the Whisperer series)
A novel by

 
 
In this adventurous retelling of The Prince and the Pauper, the lives of a runaway royal and a carnival worker become intertwined as each is compelled to fight for his life and family. Fans of The Sixty-Eight Rooms and Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy won't want to miss this.

Lute is a prince, next in line to the throne. Griff is a poor carnival worker who does the heavy lifting while the malevolent ringmaster orders him about. But there's something special about Griff: he can hear the thoughts of everyone around him. And one day, he begins to connect with Lute's mind, even though they've never met and are miles apart.

When Lute must run for his very life, Griff may be the only one who can help him. In a journey over land and sea, these heroes battle deadly foes and make unlikely allies, including a host of magical creatures and their caretaker, a bitter old dwarf, and a mysterious lady pirate. When the boys finally come together, they will learn they are connected in ways they could never have imagined, ways that may save them - or cost them both their lives.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Used availability for Fiona McIntosh's The Whisperer

Hardback Editions

April 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Whisperer
Author(s): Fiona McIntosh
ISBN: 0-553-49827-4 / 978-0-553-49827-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2015 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Whisperer
Author(s): Fiona McIntosh
ISBN: 0-553-49833-9 / 978-0-553-49833-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

April 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Whisperer
Author(s): Fiona McIntosh
ISBN: 0-553-49835-5 / 978-0-553-49835-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Yearling
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2009 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Whisperer
Author(s): FIONA MCINTOSH
ISBN: 0-7322-8667-0 / 978-0-7322-8667-5 (Australia edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers (Australia) Pty Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Whisperer
Author(s): Fiona McIntosh
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2010 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Whisperer
Author(s): Fiona McIntosh
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon AU