book cover of The Maid\'s Room

The Maid's Room

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of The Help and The Invention of Wings, a searing and sweeping debut novel that gives a new and unforgettable perspective on modern-day domestic workers.

Set in the blistering heat of Singapore, The Maid's Room follows the lives of two Filipina maids - sisters Dolly and Tala - who are working hard to send money back home and British expat Jules, who has left her job as a midwife to move to Singapore with husband David.

Told with humour, filled with heartbreaking detail about daily life as a maid and with an exhilarating spirit that is ultimately uplifting, this book will resonate with anyone who has struggled to have their voice heard.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"A beautifully written debut that's both moving and humorous with characters I truly cared about. I loved everything about it!" - Claire Douglas

"I loved The Maid's Room with its exquisite writing, married with a shocking and powerful story line that had me gripped and moved until the uplifting conclusion. A fascinating read about survival and the strength and resilience of the human heart." - Katie Marsh


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Fiona Mitchell's The Maid's Room

Hardback Editions

November 2017 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Maid's Room: 'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street
Author(s): Fiona Mitchell
ISBN: 1-4736-5956-6 / 978-1-4736-5956-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

1900 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Maid's Room: 'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street
Author(s): Fiona Mitchell
ISBN: 1-4736-5959-0 / 978-1-4736-5959-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Maid's Room: 'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street
Author(s): Fiona Mitchell
ISBN: 1-4736-5957-4 / 978-1-4736-5957-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Maid's Room
Author(s): Fiona Mitchell
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   


November 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Maid's Room
Author(s): Fiona Mitchell
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Maid's Room: 'A modern-day The Help' - Emerald Street
Author(s): Fiona Mitchell
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU