book cover of Midsummer Night

Midsummer Night

And Other Tales in Verse
A collection of stories by

Poet, novelist, dramatist and journalist, Masefield's literary career was a varied one. He went to sea as a youth and his first volumes of poems earned him the title of Poet of the Sea. He was a prolific writer, publishing poetry and novels as well as taking on editorial tasks. In 1930 he became Poet Laureate, a post he retained until his death 37 years later. Contents: The Begetting of Arthur; The Birth of Arthur; The Taking of Morgause; The Begetting of Modred; Badon Hill; The Sailing of Hell Race; Arthur and His Ring; Midsummer Night; The Fight on the Wall; The Breaking of the Links; Gwenivere Tells; Arthur in the Ruins; The Fight at Camlan; The Fight on the Beach, or the Passing; Gwenivere Tells; The Death of Lancelot; Dust to Dust; On the Coming of Arthur; The Old Tale of the Begetting; The Taking of Gwenivere; South and East; and Fulfillment.

Used availability for John Masefield's Midsummer Night

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors