book cover of The Lost Child

The Lost Child

(2009)
A non fiction book by

 
 
For readers of Beautiful Boy and Hurry Down Sunshine, a deeply personal and moving account of two lost children separated by two centuries.

While researching her next book, Julie Myerson finds herself in a graveyard, looking for traces of a young woman who died nearly two centuries before. As a child in Regency England, Mary Yelloly painted an exquisite album of watercolors that uniquely reflected the world in which she lived. But Mary died at the age of twenty-one, and when Julie comes across this album, she is haunted by the potential never realized. She is also reminded of her own child.

Only days earlier, Julie and her husband locked their eldest son out of the family home. He is just seventeen. After a happy childhood, he had discovered drugs, and it had taken only a matter of months for the boy to completely lose his way and propel his family into daily chaos. Julie - whose emotionally fragile relationship with her own father had left her determined to love her children better - had to accept that she was powerless to bring him back.

Honest, warm, and profoundly moving, this is the parallel story of a girl and a boy separated by centuries. The circumstances are very different, but the questions remain terrifyingly the same. What happens when a child disappears from a family? What will survive of any of us in memory or in history? And how is a mother to cope when love is not enough?



Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Julie Myerson's The Lost Child

Hardback Editions

August 2009 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lost Child: A Mother's Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 1-59691-700-8 / 978-1-59691-700-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2009 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Lost Child
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 0-7475-9190-3 / 978-0-7475-9190-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2010 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Child: A Mother's Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 1-60819-228-8 / 978-1-60819-228-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Child
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 1-4088-0077-2 / 978-1-4088-0077-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2009 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Lost Child
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 1-4088-0387-9 / 978-1-4088-0387-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

March 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Child: A Mother's Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon   


July 2009 : UK Audio Cassette
thumb

Title: The Lost Child: A True Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 0-7531-4401-8 / 978-0-7531-4401-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2009 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Lost Child: A True Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 0-7531-4402-6 / 978-0-7531-4402-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2009 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Lost Child: A True Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
ISBN: 0-7531-4403-4 / 978-0-7531-4403-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

January 2012 : Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Child
Author(s): Julie Myerson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2010 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Lost Child: A Mother's Story
Author(s): Julie Myerson
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon