book cover of The Mistake
Added by 19 of our members

The Mistake

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
'I absolutely loved this novel: fresh, funny and heartfelt. I didn't want it to end!' Liane Moriarty

'I was turning the pages well into the night. I loved it' Sarah J. Naughton

___________

Two sisters. One mistake. A thousand consequences.

Kate and Bec are sisters, but they could not be less alike.

Bec lives the perfect life: perfect house, perfect husband, perfect children. That is, until she meets Ryan - ten years her junior, wild and exciting, his arrival makes her question everything.

Her sister Kate's life is anything but perfect. Her modelling career ended suddenly over a decade ago; and since then she's lived a lonely existence. But when she meets tall, kind, funny Adam, things start to look up. Yet something doesn't quite add up, and as he avoids Kate's questions, she begins to wonder if he really is too good to be true . . . .

But as tensions mount and secrets are revealed, which sister is about to make the wrong choice? And what if some mistakes just can't be put right?

A novel about mistakes and choices, relationships and forgiveness, The Mistake will have you turning pages long into the night. Not since Liane Moriarty and Marian Keyes have we met such sharp, sassy characters and been captivated by such a suspenseful, tantalising read.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Addictive storytelling from an exciting new talent." - Fiona McIntosh

"The Mistake fits so much in - brilliantly drawn characters, witty asides and twists and turns that make you race to the end. Whether you're rooting for them or wanting to shout at them, the sisters' lives are ones you want to keep reading about. I loved it. It totally got me out of my lockdown reading slump! McMahon writes like a dream." - Asia Mackay

"An amazing, irresistible read . . . I couldn't put this down!" - Jaclyn Moriarty

"I absolutely loved this novel: fresh, funny and heartfelt. I didn't want it to end!" - Liane Moriarty

"I was turning the pages well into the night. I loved it - that undercurrent of menace, but never quite knowing where the menace is coming from." - Sarah J Naughton

"What a treat to read! The Mistake is an intelligent thriller with heart and guts - fantastically funny yet creepily menacing. Brilliantly written and immersive, it's a wonderful tale of what it means to be a sister, a mother, a wife and a lover in a world that judges on first appearances - and sometimes bears a grudge." - Harriet Walker


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Katie McMahon's The Mistake

Paperback Editions

April 2021 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mistake: Perfect for fans of T.M. Logan and Liane Moriarty
Author(s): Katie McMahon
ISBN: 1-83877-378-9 / 978-1-83877-378-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2021 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: The Mistake
Author(s): Katie McMahon
ISBN: 1-76068-669-7 / 978-1-76068-669-7 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Echo
Availability: Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mistake
Author(s): Katie McMahon
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon   


March 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mistake
Author(s): Katie McMahon
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Mistake
Author(s): Katie McMahon
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Mistake: Perfect for fans of T.M. Logan and Liane Moriarty
Author(s): Katie McMahon
Publisher: Zaffre
Availability: Amazon UK   


March 2021 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Mistake: Perfect for fans of T.M. Logan and Liane Moriarty
Author(s): Katie McMahon
Publisher: Echo
Availability: Amazon AU