book cover of Ration of Lies
Added by 1 of our members

Ration of Lies

(The eighth book in the Maggie Sullivan series)
A novel by

As WWII rages in the Pacific, relatives of a Japanese-American suspected of starting a fatal fire hire Ohio private investigator Maggie Sullivan to uncover the truth. Did he do it? Is he alive or dead? The police claim not to know what became of him, and there are hints of War Department involvement.

Tosh Hashimoto and his family are among some 150 Japanese-Americans brought to Dayton by a church coalition that found jobs and housing for them throughout the community. The more Maggie learns about the night of the fire, the more she believes Tosh is being framed.

Grieving the recent loss of a close childhood friend killed in battle, Maggie wrestles inner conflict over taking the case. A harrowing attack in an alley, the murder of a witness, and a racist warning gouged into her office filing cabinet fuel her resolve to push ahead.

Amid rationing, shortages, extra beds for noisy newcomers wedged into corners of her once-quiet rooming house, and an unexpected change in her personal life, Maggie scrambles to determine the identity of a killer who is more than willing to kill again.

Genre: Mystery

Similar books by other authors

The Cane Mutiny
(Den of Antiquity, book 13)
Tamar Myers
Murder in Friday Street
(Marsh and Daughter, book 2)
Amy Myers
Larger Than Death
(Josephine Fuller, book 1)
Lynne Murray

Used availability for M Ruth Myers's Ration of Lies

Paperback Editions

October 2019 : USA Paperback

Title: Ration of Lies (Maggie Sullivan mysteries)
Author(s): M Ruth Myers
ISBN: 1-69902-655-6 / 978-1-69902-655-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Kindle Editions

October 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: Ration of Lies (Maggie Sullivan mysteries Book 8)
Author(s): M Ruth Myers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU