book cover of Urgle
 

Urgle

(2013)
(The Boys of Fire and Ash)
(The first book in the Brothers of the Ikkuma Pit series)
A novel by

 
 
"The compelling mythology and dystopian setting will appeal to genre readers. Fans of James Dashner, Margaret Peterson Haddix, and Patrick Ness need look no further."--Kirkus 

Fans of Rick Riordan and Anthony Horowitz will want to read this action-filled debut novel that offers a new world to enjoy and a new underdog to root for.--Booklist 

Abandoned at birth, the Brothers of the Ikkuma Pit know no mothers. They fend for themselves, each training their Little Brother to survive until they turn sixteen, when it’s their Leaving Day. No boy knows what’s beyond the forest. But when Urgle’s Little Brother, Cubby, is carried off by troll-like predators, Urgle and two of his Brothers embark on a quest to rescue him from a place from which no one has ever returned.

More praise for The Boys of Fire and Ash:

"McIsaac’s debut fantasy novel is fast-paced and heartstopping. . . . This self-contained story is an entertaining read that will be enjoyed by many."--School Library Journal 

"The novel is urgently gritty, with rich worldbuilding and plenty of action."--Publishers Weekly
 
"Contemplative readers will be left with questions to ponder and ethical decisions to mull as well as a satisfying and tense read."--The Bulletin  

Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Meaghan McIsaac's Urgle

Hardback Editions

May 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Boys of Fire and Ash
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
ISBN: 0-385-74445-5 / 978-0-385-74445-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2015 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Boys of Fire and Ash
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
ISBN: 0-375-99167-0 / 978-0-375-99167-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2013 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Urgle
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
ISBN: 1-84939-767-8 / 978-1-84939-767-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Andersen Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


2013 : Hardback
thumb

Title: [(Urgle)] [ By (author) Meaghan McIsaac ] [May, 2013]
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 1900 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Boys of Fire and Ash
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
ISBN: 0-385-74446-3 / 978-0-385-74446-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Yearling
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2014 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Urgle
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
ISBN: 1-84939-573-X / 978-1-84939-573-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Andersen Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2013 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: Urgle
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
ISBN: 1-77086-308-7 / 978-1-77086-308-8 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Cormorant Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2015 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Boys of Fire and Ash
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Availability: Amazon   


May 2013 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Urgle
Author(s): Meaghan McIsaac
Publisher: Andersen Digital
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU