book cover of Forensic Songs

Forensic Songs

(2012)
A collection of stories by

 
 
This story collection by a Man Booker Prize nominee "effortlessly weaves Raymond Carver's lucidity together with Franz Kafka's otherworldly absurdity" (Library Journal, starred review).

Amid much hollow laughter, a prisoner is drawn from his cell in the middle of the night to play a video game. Two rural guards ponder the security threat posed by the only man in Ireland not to have written his memoirs. A child tries to offset his destiny as a serial killer by petitioning his father for a beating. Two men turn up at the door of a slacker to give him news of his death and recruit him to some mysterious surveillance mission. An older brother worries about the health of his younger sibling. A late night American cop show becomes a savage analysis of a faltering marriage in the west of Ireland. A prodigal son returns to reveal the fear and hypocrisy that lie at the heart of his brother's life.

From the acclaimed author of Solar Bones, "Forensic Songs is a striking work of cross-genre virtuosity, where hints of speculative fiction and fable bring a surprising spark to McCormack's serious literary sensibility. These pieces are clever, touching, timely and at times prescient. A distinctly Irish story collection, perfect for fans of George Saunders's Tenth of December" (Shelf Awareness).

Genre: Literary Fiction

Used availability for Mike McCormack's Forensic Songs

Paperback Editions

January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Forensic Songs
Author(s): Mike McCormack
ISBN: 1-84351-270-X / 978-1-84351-270-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Lilliput Press Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Forensic Songs
Author(s): Mike McCormack
ISBN: 1-61695-414-0 / 978-1-61695-414-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

July 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Forensic Songs: Stories
Author(s): Mike McCormack
Publisher: Soho Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


December 2012 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Forensic Songs
Author(s): Mike McCormack
Publisher: The Lilliput Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU