book cover of Beyond This Limit

Beyond This Limit

Selected Shorter Fiction of Naomi Mitchison
A collection of stories by

Naomi Mitchison published her first novel, The Conquered, in 1923. In her more than seventy succeeding books she has produced an extraordinary out-put, especially in the novel and the short story. This selection of the shorter fiction is intended to illustrate her range and achievement over more than fifty years. Beyond This Limit was the result of a unique co-operative partnership with illustrator Wyndham Lewis, and story and pictures are here first reproduced from the limited edition of 1935. The other contents range from a story of the cave painters of Lascaux, through Mitchison's major fictional preoccupations, ancient Greece, Scotland, Africa, to a story of post-holocaust Scotland first published in 1982. Central to all of them is a very individual intelligence constantly examining the politics of power in human relationships, including sexual ones. Edited with an Introduction by Isobel Murray, Emeritus Professor of Modern Scottish Literature at the University of Aberdeen, Scotland.

Genre: Fantasy

Used availability for Naomi Mitchison's Beyond This Limit

Paperback Editions

September 2008 : UK Paperback

Title: Beyond This Limit: Selected Shorter Fiction (The Naomi Mitchison Library)
Author(s): Naomi Mitchison
ISBN: 1-904999-85-9 / 978-1-904999-85-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Kennedy & Boyd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

October 1986 : UK Paperback

Title: Beyond This Limit (Scottish Classic Series)
Author(s): Naomi Mitchison
ISBN: 0-7073-0501-2 / 978-0-7073-0501-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Scottish Academic Press Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK