book cover of Sarah, Plain and Tall Complete Collection

Sarah, Plain and Tall Complete Collection

(2014)
(A book in the Sarah, Plain and Tall Saga series)
An omnibus of novels by

 
 
This children's literature classic series is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Patricia MacLachlan's stories about Sarah, Papa, Anna, and the rest of the Witting family gently explore timeless themes of abandonment, loss, and love. This collection includes all five books in the series.

Sarah, Plain and Tall: This Newbery Medal-winning book tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

Skylark: Jacob is a man of the land but for Sarah, the prairie isn't yet her home. So when a drought threatens to devastate their way of life, Jacob must save the farm. But the children go back to the home Sarah knew first, Maine, where there is family and an ocean. But will they ever be a family again on the prairie?

Caleb's Story: "It's your job now," Anna says as she hands Caleb her journals, asking him to continue writing the family story. But Sarah, Jacob, Anna, Caleb, and their new little sister, Cassie, have already formed a family, and Caleb fears there will be nothing left to write about. But that is before Cassie discovers a mysterious old man in the barn and everything changes. Everyone is excited about the arrival of a new family member except for Jacob, who holds a bitter grudge.

More Perfect than the Moon: Cassie spends her days watching Grandfather and Caleb in the barn, looking out at Papa working the fields, spying on her mother, Sarah, feeding the goslings. She's an observer, a writer, a storyteller. Everything is as it should be. But change is inevitable, even on the prairie. Something new is expected, and Sarah says it will be the perfect gift. Cassie isn't so sure.

Grandfather's Dance: Cassie's sister Anna's wedding brings two lovebirds together, aunts from faraway Maine, a long white dress with a wedding veil, dancing under a clear blue sky, and a world that smells of roses. As the Witting family comes together for this most special day, Cassie sees that life brings the change of seasons, brother Jack on Grandfather's lap, joy, sorrow, and a special dance only Grandfather does.

Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Farmer Boy
(Little House, book 3)
Laura Ingalls Wilder

Used availability for Patricia MacLachlan's Sarah, Plain and Tall Complete Collection

Kindle Editions

October 2014 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Sarah, Plain and Tall Complete Collection: Sarah, Plain and Tall; Skylark; Caleb's Story; More Perfect than the Moon; Grandfather's Dance
Author(s): Patricia MacLachlan
Publisher: HarperCollins
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA