book cover of Her Darkest Hour
Added by 10 of our members

Her Darkest Hour

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
'You and me - we're sisters, not enemies. We've got a real enemy at our door and we need to focus on that - together, united. I don't want to be fighting you as well.'

In the small French town of Colmar, swastikas hang from lampposts, tanks are lined up outside the town hall, and twenty-one-year-old Marie-Claire is in love. She will do anything for her childhood friend Jacques, including spying on her German boss, Dietrich Kurtz. Anything to make Jacques see her in a new light, as something more than just a silly little girl.

But when Jacques rejects her, everything changes. Mortified and stung, Marie-Claire feels the need for revenge. She turns her back on those she loves and is catapulted into a new life.

Her little sister Victoire is aghast at her sister's traitorous behaviour, not least because Marie-Claire is endangering Victoire's own life-threatening mission, hiding Jewish refugees in their mother's wine cellar. And when Marie-Claire marries Kurtz, Victoire knows her relationship with her sister has been poisoned for ever.

But when Victoire learns someone she loves is in terrible danger, her only choice is to trust the sister who betrayed her. Kurtz, Marie-Claire's cruel and heartless husband, has key information and Victoire must persuade Marie-Claire to obtain it, even if it means risking Marie-Claire's life. As secrets come to light and close bonds are broken, will the sisters be able to heal old wounds?

An unforgettable and unputdownable story of two sisters ripped apart by World War 2. Fans of The Nightingale and The Ragged Edge of Night will fall in love with Her Darkest Hour.

Praise for Sharon Maas:

'If only I could give this book 100 stars rather than 5!... This book is epic, a mesmerizing book of strength through unimaginable losses... Heart-breaking and beautifully written, this is a gripping tale of bravery... One of the best and most memorable historical books I've ever read!' Deanne's Book Thoughts,

'From the minute I opened this book I was completely enthralled. I couldn't put it down. It was well thought out and expertly written... Really a great read and I can't wait to look into other books by this author!' Being Perry,

'This is the first book I have read by Sharon Maas and from the moment I started reading it I just could not wait to continue reading it. It's sad, it's poignant, it's uplifting and it tells the wonderful story of Sarah the violin maker's daughter, and her journey as she flees her home country, to escape Nazis... Beautifully written and a memorable read.' Netgalley Reviewer,

'Sharon Maas never disappoints! She is one of my favourite authors and with this wonderful, harrowing, heart-breaking tale of courage and love in the face of unimaginable danger, she has cemented her place as one of the best historical fiction writes of today, right up there with Antony Doerr and Kristin Hannah. I SO loved this beautiful story... so stunningly realised... I would very highly recommend this book and give it ten stars if I could.' Renita D'Silva,

'A gripping, heart-breaking, but yet heart-warming historical fiction (that is based on real facts concerning Colmar, Alsace and Lorraine as well as French and German Resistance)... It is raw and emotional, yet a necessary story to tell... A great read. 5/5 stars' Goodreads Reviewer,

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Sharon Maas's Her Darkest Hour

Paperback Editions

May 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Her Darkest Hour: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Sharon Maas
ISBN: 1-83888-664-8 / 978-1-83888-664-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Darkest Hour: Beautiful and Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Her Darkest Hour: Beautiful and Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Hachette UK - Bookouture
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

May 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Her Darkest Hour: Beautiful and heartbreaking World War 2 historical fiction
Author(s): Sharon Maas
Publisher: Bookouture
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU