book cover of The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A lightning strike gave her a superpower...but even a super genius can't solve the problem of middle school. This smart and funnynovel perfect for fans of The Fourteenth Goldfish, Rain Reign, and Counting by Sevens.

Lucy Callahan was struck by lightning. She doesn't remember it, but it changed her life forever. The zap gave her genius-level math skills, and ever since, Lucy has been homeschooled. Now, at 12 years old, she's technically ready for college. She just has to pass one more test: middle school!

Lucy's grandma insists: Go to middle school for one year. Make one friend. Join one activity. And read one book (that's not a math textbook!). Lucy's not sure what a girl who does calculus homework for fun can possibly learn in seventh grade. She has everything she needs at home, where nobody can make fun of her rigid routines or her superpowered brain. The equation of Lucy's life has already been solved. Unless there's been a miscalculation?

A celebration of friendship, Stacy McAnulty's smart and thoughtful middle-grade debut reminds us all to get out of our comfort zones and embrace what makes us different.

An NPR best book of the year.

A Kirkus Reviews best book of the year.

"An engaging story, full of heart and hope. Readers of all ages will root for Lucy, aka Lightning Girl. No miscalculations here!" (Kate Beasley, author of Gertie's Leap to Greatness)

Genre: Children's Fiction

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Geek Girl
(Geek Girl, book 1)
Holly Smale

Used availability for Stacy McAnulty's The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl

Hardback Editions

May 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
ISBN: 1-5247-6757-3 / 978-1-5247-6757-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
ISBN: 1-5247-6758-1 / 978-1-5247-6758-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
ISBN: 1-5247-6760-3 / 978-1-5247-6760-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Yearling
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations Of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
ISBN: 0-525-64457-1 / 978-0-525-64457-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: RHUS CHILDREN'S BOOKS
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


May 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl
Author(s): Stacy McAnulty
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU