book cover of Hide in Place
Added by 21 of our members

Hide in Place

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
She left the NYPD in the firestorm of a high-profile case gone horribly wrong. Three years later, the ghosts of her past roar back to terrifying life.

When NYPD undercover cop Laney Bird's cover is blown in a racketeering case against the Russian mob, she flees the city with her troubled son, Alfie. Now, three years later, she's found the perfect haven in Sylvan, a charming town in upstate New York. But then the unthinkable happens: her boy vanishes.

Local law enforcement dismisses the thirteen-year-old as a runaway, but Laney knows better. Alfie would never abandon his special routines and the sanctuary of their home. Could he have been kidnapped--or worse? As a February snowstorm rips through the region, Laney is forced to launch her own investigation, using every trick she learned in her years undercover.

As she digs deeper into the disappearance, Laney learns that Alfie and a friend had been meeting with an older man who himself vanished, but not before leaving a corpse in his garage. With dawning horror, Laney discovers that the man was a confidential informant from a high-profile case she had handled in the past. Although he had never known her real identity, he knows it now. Which means several other enemies do, too. Time is running out, and as Laney's search for her son grows more desperate, everything depends on how good a detective she really is--badge or no.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"This is a debut novel not to be missed, in particular for readers of Harlan Coben and Carol Goodman." - Nancy Bilyeau

"Crammed with suspense as a mother tries to overcome her panic and use her training to find her kidnapped son. A great read!" - Andrea Kane

"A page-turning thriller that explores a single mother’s desperate attempt to find her missing son with a compelling twist—she’s also a former cop...Impossible to put down, Emilya Naymark’s debut will leave readers hungry for more." - Jordan Rosenfeld

"Hide in Place is a fabulous thriller, but it has all the artistry of a literary masterwork." - Russell Rowland


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Emilya Naymark's Hide in Place

Hardback Editions

February 2021 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Hide in Place: A Novel
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
ISBN: 1-64385-637-5 / 978-1-64385-637-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

February 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Hide in Place
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
ISBN: 1-66207-314-3 / 978-1-66207-314-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Hide in Place
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


February 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Hide in Place
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Hide in Place
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


February 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Hide in Place
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2021 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Hide in Place
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
ISBN: 1-66207-203-1 / 978-1-66207-203-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media Llc
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Hide in Place: A Novel
Author(s): Emilya Naymark
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU