book cover of A Slave\'s Tale
Added by 2 of our members

A Slave's Tale

(2012)
(The first book in the Galdir series)
A novel by

 
 
"Highly Commended"
- Yeovil Literary Prize

"A great read, well written and definitely leaving me looking for more."
- Martha Bryce

Three seemingly unrelated events collide to change the course of history: A Roman slave with a serpent tattoo uncovers his true barbarian identity... A battle for power among Frankish warlords leads to a mass exodus across the Rhine... All the while, Marcus Aurelius' Roman army pushes further north, changing everything.

In the background, the ageing witch Chlotsuintha predicts it all. Or is she the one pulling the strings to shape her people's future?

When Sextus escapes Rome with a pocketful of gold and a knife, how could he even have dreamt of what the fates might have in store for him?

Pursued by Roman soldiers for the murder of his master, Sextus enlists the help of a retired gladiator, and falls in love with the gladiator's niece. An invading German army drives them further north, where Sextus discovers his true birthright, and his real name - Galdir. He becomes caught up in a bitter feud as one of the heirs of a dead Frankish warlord; but the blood feud must be put aside when the Romans invade and besiege the Frankish capital.

'Galdir' is enthralling Roman Empire fiction - a tale of love, brutal battles and conflict, in which a mystical prophecy winds its way through an epic saga of struggle against Rome, and the consequences of resistance by the Frankish people, its Warlord and its witches. The saga continues in Galdir - Rebel of the North, and Galdir - Protector of Rome.

"Vivid storytelling... This is a great book for everyone who likes stories about the Roman Empire and for those that like great action and adventure books."
- Mariv Photography

"If you're looking for an adventurous, suspenseful, and interesting book, I would highly recommend Galdir: A Slave's Tale by Fredrik Nath."
- Brianna, Goodreads reviewer

Find out more about Galdir in 3D at http://inkflash.com/FredrikNath

GALDIR - A SLAVE'S TALE will appeal to fans of Legions of Rome, Hannibal, Warrior Chronicles and Spartacus; and Roman novels by Ben Kane, Conn Iggulden and Simon Scarrow.

Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Fredrik Nath's A Slave's Tale

Paperback Editions

November 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Galdir - A Slave's Tale (Roman Fiction): A Roman War Epic: 1 (Barbarian Warlord Saga)
Author(s): Fredrik Nath
ISBN: 1-908824-13-1 / 978-1-908824-13-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Fingerpress
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

June 2012 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Galdir - A Slave's Tale (Roman Novel): Roman Empire Fiction (Roman Empire Series Book 1)
Author(s): Fredrik Nath
Publisher: Fingerpress
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU