New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

The Illuminations

(2015)
A novel by

 
Awards
The Man Booker Prize Best Novel (nominee)
A compelling new novel by two-time Booker finalist and internationally acclaimed author Andrew O'Hagan. For readers of Colm Toibin, Ian McEwan, Alan Hollinghurst and David Mitchell.
How much do we keep from the people we love? Why is the truth so often buried in secrets? Can we learn from the past or must we forget it? The Illuminations, Andrew O'Hagan's fifth work of fiction, is a powerful, nuanced and deeply affecting novel about love and memory, about modern war and the complications of fact.
Standing one evening at the window of her house by the sea, Anne Quirk sees a rabbit disappearing in the snow. Nobody remembers her now, but this elderly woman was in her youth an artistic pioneer, a creator of groundbreaking documentary photographs. Her beloved grandson, Luke, now a captain in the British army is on a tour of duty in Afghanistan. When his mission goes horribly wrong, he ultimately comes face to face with questions of loyalty and moral responsibility that will continue to haunt him. Once Luke returns home to Scotland, Anne's secret story begins to emerge, along with his, and they set out for an old guest house in Blackpool where she once kept a room. There they witness the annual illuminations--the dazzling artificial lights that brighten the seaside resort town as the season turns to winter. The Illuminations is a beautiful and highly charged novel that reveals, among other things, that no matter how we look at it, there is no such thing as an ordinary life.

Genre: Literary Fiction    Get it on Google Play
 
Similar Books by other authors...


The Green Road
Anne Enright
thumb
On Beauty
Zadie Smith

Satin Island
Tom McCarthy

The Moor's Account
Laila Lalami
 
Used availability for Andrew O'Hagan's The Illuminations


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

March 2015 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 0-374-17456-3 / 978-0-374-17456-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

February 2015 : Canada Hardback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 0-7710-6833-6 / 978-0-7710-6833-1 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

January 2015 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 0-571-27364-5 / 978-0-571-27364-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

July 2016 : USA Paperback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 1-250-09468-2 / 978-1-250-09468-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Picador
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

March 2016 : Canada Paperback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 0-7710-6832-8 / 978-0-7710-6832-4 (Canada edition)
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

December 2015 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 0-571-27366-1 / 978-0-571-27366-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2015 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 0-571-27365-3 / 978-0-571-27365-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

September 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   

September 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   

September 2015 : UK Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Illuminations (Unabridged Audiobook)
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 1-5100-0740-7 / 978-1-5100-0740-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   

May 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 1-4945-1224-6 / 978-1-4945-1224-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
ISBN: 1-4945-6224-3 / 978-1-4945-6224-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

May 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Availability: Amazon   

Kindle Editions

March 2015 : USA Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Illuminations: A Novel
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Availability: Amazon   

February 2015 : Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher: McClelland & Stewart
Availability: Amazon CA   

January 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: The Illuminations
Author(s): Andrew O'Hagan
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for