book cover of The Irish House
Added by 7 members
 

The Irish House

(2023)
A novel by

 
 
My dearest Marianne, by now you will be confused and a little mystified as to why I have made this great ask of you… But I promise the reasons will become apparent. There are secrets, you see…

When New York-born
Marianne’s grandmother Collie passes away at home in rural Ireland, no one expects Marianne to be the one to inherit everything. Surely beautiful Kilteelagh House, with its avenue of trees, its acres of wildflowers, and its mysteriously locked front door should have gone to Marianne’s aunt – who’d nursed Collie in her dying days?

But Collie had a different plan. Her last wish was for Marianne to come to live in the house – for a year – raising her two headstrong young nieces at the same time. Marianne is overwhelmed by the challenge. As letters – written before her death – begin to arrive from Collie, Marianne soon realises that her grandmother has a lot to still teach her.

Her growing attraction to local handyman
Jack and her new circle of friends means Marianne can’t help but begin to fall in love with this place that is so full of memories, of secrets, and perhaps even a little bit of Irish magic.

That is, until a letter arrives that changes everything Marianne thought she knew…

An emotional and heart-warming read that will make you laugh, cry and hold your loved ones close. Perfect for fans of Susanne O’Leary, Cathy Kelly and Kathleen McGurl.

What readers are saying about Ann O’Loughlin:

I couldn't believe the amount of emotion I felt whilst reading this story… Ann O'Loughlin could not have written a better book… Just as heartwarming as it is heartbreaking.’ Kelly's Book Corner

A powerful and moving story, very well written with characters that are fascinating and a central theme that is quite tragic.’ Random Things Through My Letterbox


Genre: Romance

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Ann O'Loughlin's The Irish House


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors