book cover of Shell

Shell

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
In this spellbinding and poignant historical novel - perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Flamethrowers - a Swedish glassmaker and a fiercely independent Australian journalist are thrown together amid the turmoil of the 1960s and the dawning of a new modern era.

1965: As the United States becomes further embroiled in the Vietnam War, the ripple effects are far-reaching - even to the other side of the world. In Australia, a national military draft has been announced, and Pearl Keogh, a headstrong and ambitious newspaper reporter, has put her job in jeopardy to become involved in the antiwar movement. Desperate to locate her two runaway brothers before they're called to serve, Pearl is also hiding a secret shame - the guilt she feels for not doing more for her younger siblings after their mother's untimely death.

Newly arrived from Sweden, Axel Lindquist is set to work as a sculptor on the besieged Sydney Opera House. After a childhood in Europe, where the shadow of WWII loomed large, he seeks to reinvent himself in this utterly foreign landscape and finds artistic inspiration - and salvation - in the monument to modernity that is being constructed on Sydney's Harbor. But as the nation hurtles toward yet another war, Jorn Utzo, the Opera House's controversial architect, is nowhere to be found - and Axel fears that the past he has tried to outrun may be catching up with him.

As the seas of change swirl around them, Pearl and Axel's lives orbit each other and collide in this sweeping novel of art and culture, love and destiny.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"A beguiling, original, and beautifully written imagining of Sydney of the sixties." - Gail Jones


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Light
(Gone, book 6)
Michael Grant

Used availability for Kristina Olsson's Shell

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Shell (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic)
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-4328-5975-7 / 978-1-4328-5975-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shell: A Novel
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-5011-9313-9 / 978-1-5011-9313-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-4711-7262-7 / 978-1-4711-7262-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Scribner UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : Australia Hardback
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-925685-32-2 / 978-1-925685-32-9 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

April 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Shell: A Novel
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-5011-9314-7 / 978-1-5011-9314-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-4711-7265-1 / 978-1-4711-7265-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Scribner UK
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2019 : Australia Paperback
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-925685-33-0 / 978-1-925685-33-6 (Australia edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Paperback

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-78782-014-9 / 978-1-78782-014-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: F A Thorpe (Publishers) Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-4711-7263-5 / 978-1-4711-7263-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Scribner UK
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-5288-4914-0 / 978-1-5288-4914-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : UK MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-5288-4915-9 / 978-1-5288-4915-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Wavesound Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-5082-6145-8 / 978-1-5082-6145-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Shell: A Novel
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
ISBN: 1-5082-6411-2 / 978-1-5082-6411-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shell: A Novel
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shell: A Novel
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

October 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shell: A Novel
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Scribner UK
Availability: Amazon UK   


September 2018 : Australia Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shell
Author(s): Kristina Olsson
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Australia
Availability: Amazon AU