book cover of In the Shadow of the Fall
Added by 1 member
 

In the Shadow of the Fall

(2024)
(The first book in the Guardians of the Gods series)
A Novella by

 
 
A cosmic war reignites and the fate of the orisha lie in the hands of an untried acolyte in this first entry of a new epic fantasy novella duology by Tobi Ogundiran, for fans of N. K. Jemisin and Tomi Adeyemi.

"
The novella of the year has arrived!"—Mark Oshiro, #1 New York Times bestselling author

A Most Anticipated Pick for The Millions | Book Riot | Gizmodo | IGN

Ashâke is an acolyte in the temple of Ifa, yearning for the day she is made a priestess and sent out into the world to serve the orisha. But of all the acolytes, she is the only one the orisha refuse to speak to. For years she has watched from the sidelines as peer after peer passes her by and ascends to full priesthood.

Desperate, Ashâke attempts to summon and trap an orisha—any orisha. Instead, she experiences a vision so terrible it draws the attention of a powerful enemy sect and thrusts Ashâke into the center of a centuries-old war that will shatter the very foundations of her world.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A lost priestess, magic storytellers, godkillers, and a secret that could upend the world. Tobi Ogundiran has woven together a masterful fantasy epic of lost faith, found family, and a cosmic war-with hints of more to come. This is one to add to your reading list!" - P Djèlí Clark

"The novella of the year has arrived! Ogundiran's story of an acolyte's lost faith is electrifying, terrifying, and tender all at the same time. There's more wonder and creativity packed into these pages than a book five times its length, and I'm already aching for the next chapter in Ashake's adventure." - Mark Oshiro

"Ogundiran unveils a world that is both in recovery and on the cusp of collapse, a brilliant tension that he reinforces with a propulsive plot, dynamic imagery, and a protagonist who holds within her the seeds of hope. I'm already looking forward to book two." - Moses Ose Utomi


Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors