book cover of The Clothiers
Added by 2 of our members
 

The Clothiers

(2018)
(The third book in the Quincunx series)
A novel by

 
 

Thieves, mansions and murders... no one can be trusted in this classic historical mystery

The tangled threads of family conspiracy and dark intentions will not let John Mellamphy rest. Seeking help from Henry Bellringer, a relation of a school friend, he instead finds himself in a nest of thieves.

Reading his mother's journal, with tantalising details of his parentage, his grandfather's murder and his deadly legacy, John finally discovers a terrible truth that could mean his death. But when John finally escapes the gang and a kindly household takes him in, their intentions may not be entirely altruistic...

The third part of the bestselling classic, The Quincunx, is perfect for fans of C.S. Quinn, M.J. Carter or Alex Grecian.

Praise for The Quincunx

'Grips like steel... it's a book to make you miss your stop on the bus or the train, keep you up at night and wake you early... a formidable achievement' Kaleidoscope, BBC Radio 4

'His brilliant and entertaining pastiche of the mid-nineteenth-century novel' The Times

'A brilliant and deeply eccentric attempt to reproduce an early Victorian novel... it combines massive scope with minute detail - there is a cast of thousands, but every figure is lovingly painted. The plot is so thick the spoon stands up in it, and by the end, the reader has toured the whole of late Regency society... Magnificent - gripping and beautifully written; the sort of book that sends you into a trance of pleasure' Independent

'Charles Palliser has realised a world that can almost be smelt and tasted as it pours off the page of this gripping, extraordinary novel' Daily Telegraph

'His plot is of an intricacy that Wilkie Collins himself might have envied... an astonishing achievement' Scotsman

The Quincunx

  1. The Huffams

    The Mompessons

    The Clothiers

    The Palphramonds

    The Maliphants


Genre: Historical Mystery

Used availability for Charles Palliser's The Clothiers

Kindle Editions

July 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Quincunx: The Clothiers
Author(s): Charles Palliser
Publisher: Canelo Adventure
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU