book cover of Winter Light

Winter Light

(A book in the Hemlock County series)
An omnibus of novels by

David Poyer's saga of Hemlock County explores that land where coal yielded to oil, the heart of American industrial power. This multi-volume work is also the life story of a powerful character, William Halvorsen, a tough, idealistic working man who lives in the shadow of, and sometimes in the employ of, Thunder Oil and its autocratic capitalist owner, Daniel Thunner. Halvorsen's times are times of violence, love, tragedy, betrayal, and triumph, hard times throughout, but always with the feeling that the struggle is worthwhile, that both pleasure and redemption are possible. This is the story of America's 20th century.

Winter Light collects Dead of Winter and As the Wolf Loves Winter. Thunder on the Mountain, which introduces Halvorsen, is available in mass market paperback.

Genre: Mystery

Used availability for David C Poyer's Winter Light

Paperback Editions

February 2001 : USA Paperback

Title: Winter Light
Author(s): David Poyer
ISBN: 0-312-87904-0 / 978-0-312-87904-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Forge Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU