book cover of The Girls in the Fire
Added by 7 members
 

The Girls in the Fire

(2022)
(The second book in the Detective Harlow Durant series)
A novel by

 
 
The picture showed a young and carefree woman, gazing at the camera with her striking emerald green eyes and long black hair waving in the breeze. But now her delicate body was lifeless on the ground, her future extinguished in an instant.

When the remains of a young woman are discovered on the edge of Saranac Lake in upstate New York, local law enforcement immediately call Detective Harlow Durant. When she arrives at the scene, she instantly knows this case will get under her skin. Lying just beyond the picturesque lake popular with families are the remains of a victim who has been burned. With little evidence remaining, Harlow begins scouring missing persons reports.

The victim is identified as twenty-six-year-old Ellie Gordon—a fun-loving young woman who worked in the bookstore and enjoyed going out with friends. When her mother comes to ID the body, she reports her daughter’s gold crucifix missing and the hunt begins to locate it and any potential DNA evidence. But as Harlow starts to piece Ellie’s last movements together, another body is found, killed in exactly the same way.

Witness statements identify a local man who was obsessed with both victims and when Harlow sees video evidence of him pawning the gold necklace, she thinks she has her man. But when he too winds up dead, Harlow has to start over. The only other link to the women is Gavin Croswell, one of the most powerful men in the town. But with a whole host of alibis, pinning the murders on him is almost impossible.

Soon the case becomes personal when Harlow’s car is violently run off the road. Someone wants to warn her off and they will use anything they can to threaten her, even if it means exposing her twisted past. With time running out to find the killer, can Harlow face her darkest secret before another woman loses her life?

An addictive serial killer thriller perfect for fans of Melinda Leigh, Kendra Elliot and Robert Dugoni.

What readers are saying about the Harlow Durant series:

“WAIT WHAT?!?! Come back here! I need more! Holy smokes! I finished this book in a day.I legit got zero done because I was so invested. I’m so glad I saw this is going to be a series because these characters are amazing… I’m ready for the next book now!” joni_loves_reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I had to keep the Kindle next to me throughout the day to snag every few minutes I could! I was actually angry when pulled away from it!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Wow… There are so many twists in this book and you’re never sure who is the serial killer… The thrills didn't stop. Loved it. I would give this book more stars if I could.” NetGalley reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Nail-biting thrillereverything you would ever want in a murder mystery. It grabs you and keeps you guessing until the end… easily a 5 star novel.” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Totally heart-pounding… I was totally invested in this story! Kept me turning the pages well into the night!… Can't wait to read more of Durant!” Goodreads reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐


Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Dea Poirier's The Girls in the Fire


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors