A haunting, evocative portrait of three generations of a family by an exciting and inspired new voice in fiction

It is the summer of 1945 in Norfolk, England, and when Goose comes upon a German soldier buried neck deep in the mud of a local salt marsh, she pulls him out and brings him home. Nine months later, he vanishes in a makeshift boat, leaving Goose behind with a newborn daughter, Lil. Taught to read the clouds by her mother, Lil is curious and her childhood strange. When she becomes the object of two brothers' desire, her life takes a tragic turn.

Fifteen years later, it is Lil's son, Pip, who attempts to make sense of his family's intriguing history. Pip, who never utters a word, is alone and isolated in his mute world and is beguiled by the lovely flame-haired Elsie who lives nearby. Pip comes of age among the marshes like the generations before him-but will the misfortune of his family's past repeat itself through him?

Salt is a family saga that explores the relationship between people and the landscape in which they live. Atmospheric and lyrical, Jeremy Page's debut novel is revelatory in its use of language. For fans of John Banville and Marilynne Robinson, Salt signals the introduction of a significant writer.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Striking, funny, terrifying... I admired and loved it." - Margaret Forster


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Crossing Places
(Ruth Galloway Mystery, book 1)
Elly Griffiths

Used availability for Jeremy Page's Salt

Hardback Editions

March 2008 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt
Author(s): Jeremy Page
ISBN: 0-7531-7994-6 / 978-0-7531-7994-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


July 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt
Author(s): Jeremy Page
ISBN: 0-670-03868-7 / 978-0-670-03868-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking Adult
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2007 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Salt
Author(s): Jeremy Page
ISBN: 0-670-91658-7 / 978-0-670-91658-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Viking
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

December 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt (Isis General Fiction)
Author(s): Jeremy Page
ISBN: 0-7531-7995-4 / 978-0-7531-7995-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


August 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt
Author(s): Jeremy Page
ISBN: 0-14-311412-3 / 978-0-14-311412-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2008 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Salt
Author(s): Jeremy Page
ISBN: 0-14-102770-3 / 978-0-14-102770-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2008 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Salt
Author(s): Jeremy Page
Publisher: Penguin Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA