book cover of Among the Ten Thousand Things
Added by 1 of our members

Among the Ten Thousand Things

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Jenny Offill, Jonathan Franzen, A. M. Homes, and Lorrie Moore, Among the Ten Thousand Things is a dazzling first novel.

Jack Shanley is a well-known New York artist, charming and vain, who doesn't mean to plunge his family into crisis. His wife, Deb, gladly left behind a difficult career as a dancer to raise the two children she adores. In the ensuing years, she has mostly avoided coming face to face with the weaknesses of the man she married. But then an anonymously sent package arrives in the mail: a cardboard box containing sheaves of printed emails chronicling Jack's secret life. The package is addressed to Deb, but it's delivered into the wrong hands: her children's.

With this vertiginous opening begins a debut that is by turns funny, wise, and indescribably moving. As the Shanleys spin apart into separate orbits, leaving New York in an attempt to regain their bearings, 15-year-old Simon feels the allure of adult freedoms for the first time while 11-year-old Kay wanders precariously into a grown-up world she can't possibly understand. Writing with extraordinary precision, humour, and beauty, Julia Pierpont has crafted a timeless, hugely enjoyable novel about the bonds of family life - their brittleness and their resilience.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"This book is among the funniest, and most emotionally honest, I've read in a long time." - Jonathan Safran Foer


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Julia Pierpont's Among the Ten Thousand Things

Hardback Editions

March 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
ISBN: 1-4104-8639-7 / 978-1-4104-8639-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Among the Ten-Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
ISBN: 1-78074-763-2 / 978-1-78074-763-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
ISBN: 0-8129-9522-8 / 978-0-8129-9522-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
ISBN: 0-8129-8534-6 / 978-0-8129-8534-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
ISBN: 1-78074-830-2 / 978-1-78074-830-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


August 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
ISBN: 1-101-91287-1 / 978-1-101-91287-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


July 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten-Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Oneworld Publications
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Among the Ten Thousand Things: A Novel
Author(s): Julia Pierpont
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA