book cover of Topics of Conversation
Added by 2 members
 

Topics of Conversation

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Sally Rooney, Rachel Cusk, Lydia Davis, and Jenny Offill - a compact tour de force about sex, violence, and self-loathing from a ferociously talented new voice in fiction

Miranda Popkey's first novel is about desire, disgust, motherhood, loneliness, art, pain, feminism, anger, envy, guilt - written in language that sizzles with intelligence and eroticism. The novel is composed almost exclusively of conversations between women - the stories they tell each other, and the stories they tell themselves, about shame and love, infidelity and self-sabotage - and careens through 20 years in the life of an unnamed narrator hungry for experience and bent on upending her life. Edgy, wry, shot through with rage and despair, Topics of Conversation introduces an audacious and immensely gifted new novelist.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Miranda Popkey's Topics of Conversation


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors