book cover of River of the Brokenhearted

River of the Brokenhearted

(2003)
A novel by

 
 
In the 1920s, Janie McLeary and George King run one of the first movie theatres in the Maritimes. The marriage of the young Irish Catholic woman to an older English man is thought scandalous, but they work happily together, playing music to accompany the films. When George succumbs to illness and dies, leaving Janie with one young child and another on the way, the unscrupulous Joey Elias tries to take over the business. But Janie guards the theatre with a shotgun, and still in mourning, re-opens it herself. 'If there was no real bliss in Janie's life,' recounts her grandson, 'there were moments of triumph.'

One night, deceived by the bank manager and Elias into believing she will lose her mortgage, Janie resolves to go and ask for money from the Catholic houses. Elias has sent out men to stop her, so she leaps out the back window and with a broken rib she swims in the dark across the icy Miramichi River, doubting her own sanity. Yet, seeing these people swayed into immoral actions because of their desire to please others and their fear of being outcast, she thinks to herself that '.all her life she had been forced to act in a way uncommon with others. Was sanity doing what they did? And if it was, was it moral or justified to be sane?'

Astonishingly, she finds herself face to face that night with influential Lord Beaverbrook, who sees in her tremendous character and saves her business. Not only does she survive, she prospers; she becomes wealthy, but ostracized. Even her own father helps Elias plot against her. Yet Janie McLeary King thwarts them and brings first-run talking pictures to the town.

Meanwhile, she employs Rebecca from the rival Druken family to look after her children. Jealous, and a protégé of Elias, Rebecca mistreats her young charges. The boy Miles longs to be a performer, but Rebecca convinces him he is hated, and he inherits his mother's enemies. The only person who truly loves her, he is kept under his mother's influence until, eventually, he takes a job as the theatre's projectionist. He drinks heavily all his life, tends his flowers, and talks of things no-one believes, until the mystery at the heart of the novel finally unravels.

'At six I began to realize that my father was somewhat different,' says Miles King's son Wendell, who narrates the saga in an attempt to find answers in the past and understand 'how I was damned.' It is a many-layered epic of rivalries, misunderstandings, rumours; the abuse of power, what weak people will do for love, and the true power of doing right; of a pioneer and her legacy in the lives of her son and grandchildren.

'David Adams Richards is perhaps the greatest Canadian writer alive,' wrote Lynn Coady in the Vancouver Sun. From this winner of the Giller Prize and the Governor General's Award comes a story of a woman's determined struggle against small town prejudice, and her son's long battle against deceit. Richards' own family ran Newcastle's Uptown Theatre from 1911 to 1980, and Janie is based on his grandmother. Cast upon this history is a drama that explores morality and 'the question of how one should live,' as The Atlantic Monthly said of Mercy Among the Children, his previous novel.

Reviewers agree that Richards' fiction sits firmly in the tradition of Tolstoy and Dostoevsky by concerning itself explicitly with good and evil and the human freedom to choose between them. Once again, in River of the Brokenhearted, his twelfth novel, Richards has created a work of compassion and assured, poetic sophistication which finds in the hearts of its characters venality and goodwill, cruelty and love.


Get it on Google Play

Used availability for David Adams Richards's River of the Brokenhearted

Hardback Editions

June 2004 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 1-55970-712-7 / 978-1-55970-712-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


March 2003 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 0-385-65887-7 / 978-0-385-65887-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Doubleday of Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

August 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted: A Novel
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 1-61145-888-9 / 978-1-61145-888-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2011 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 1-61145-218-X / 978-1-61145-218-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2005 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: River Of The Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 0-09-946659-7 / 978-0-09-946659-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Vintage
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2004 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 0-385-65888-5 / 978-0-385-65888-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Anchor Canada
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2004 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: River Of The Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
ISBN: 0-224-07260-9 / 978-0-224-07260-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jonathan Cape Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon   


March 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
Publisher: Audible Studios
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2014 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
Publisher: Arcade Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


June 2011 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: River of the Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
Publisher: Anchor Canada
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2010 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: River Of The Brokenhearted
Author(s): David Adams Richards
Publisher: Vintage Digital
Availability: Amazon UK