book cover of The Forests of Silence
Added by 26 members

The Forests of Silence

(The first book in the Deltora Quest series)
A novel by

The Barnes & Noble Review
The first two titles in this eight-book series written by Emily Rodda for middle-grade readers written are The Forests of Silence and The Lake of Tears.

These books chronicle the quest for the gems of the Belt of Deltora. Only a true heir to the throne can wear the belt laden with these magical gems. There are seven gems in all, each wielding a great power. When combined, these gems protect the land from the evil Shadow Lord. Biding his time, the Shadow Lord waited until time and ignorance had diminished the rulers' powers. He then destroyed the belt and hid the gems in the most dangerous places throughout the kingdom.

The Forests of Silence relates the history of Deltora and its legendary belt. It also deals with the hunt for the first gem. Here we meet Lief, and it is with Lief and a companion that we set off on the quest to free the land from the Shadow Lord. Along the way we meet a third mysterious companion who figures prominently in the history of Deltora.

Although no living creatures can be found in the Forests of Silence, there is plenty of magic and sorcery at work. Lief and his companions must learn the true meaning of teamwork if they are to prevail.

In The Lake of Tears, the trio again confronts evil beings, the worst of whom is the monster-sorceress Thaegan. If the worthy trio cannot get past Thaegan, they will never make it to the enchanted Lake. As in the first book, the trio must depend on their wits and solidarity.

A great series for young readers who already recognize the value of friendship as they conquer new worlds. (Rosemary .Marotta)

Genre: Children's Fiction

Visitors also looked at these books

Used availability for Emily Rodda's The Forests of Silence

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors