book cover of Playing with Magic
Added by 4 members
 

Playing with Magic

(2024)
(The third book in the Phoebe Winchester Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
Bookstore owner Phoebe Winchester is putting on her first major author event when a body is discovered and the plot goes off the rails in this cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Cleo Coyle and Jenn McKinlay.

Amateur witch Phoebe Winchester is excited to host her first big author event at the Earl's Study, her book and tea store. The author, Sebastian Marlow, is a famous birder excited to put Raven Creek on the map for his rediscovery of a presumed-extinct bird. When Sebastian is found dead before his planned bird hike, where he expected to prove the existence of the bird to fellow birding enthusiasts, it's obvious someone wanted him to be extinct, too.

Sebastian had a few unfriendly encounters with his staff-including his recently fired manager, who was seen arguing with him at the author event. Phoebe is determined to figure out who killed Sebastian, worried that it will negatively affect her store's image that her biggest guest author got killed. With the clock ticking, she enlists the help of Rich Lofting, the handsome local private investigator, to help her look into the murder.

It's not long before another victim is pecked off and someone close to Phoebe is the suspect. She'll have to work quickly to uncover the killer and figure out who's up to fowl play in the third charming book in this warm and witchy series.


Genre: Cozy Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books




About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors