book cover of The Bright & the Pale
Added by 6 members
 

The Bright & the Pale

(2021)
(The first book in the Bright & the Pale series)
A novel by

 
 
Debut author Jessica Rubinkowski delivers the thrilling first book in an epic Russian folklore–inspired fantasy duology filled with page-turning romance, tragedy, magic, and monsters. Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sara Raasch!

Seventeen-year-old Valeria is one of the only survivors of the freeze, a dark magical hold Knnot Mountain unleashed on her village. Everyone, including her family, is trapped in an unbreakable sheet of ice. Ever since, she’s been on the run from the czar, who has set out to imprison anyone who managed to escape. Valeria finds refuge with the Thieves Guild, doing odd jobs with her best friend, Alik, the only piece of home she has left. That is, until he is brutally murdered.

A year later, she discovers Alik is alive and being held captive. To buy his freedom, she must lead a group of cutthroats and thieves on a perilous expedition to the very mountain that claimed her family. Only something sinister slumbers in the heart of Knnot. And it has waited years for release.



Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Sparkling and sumptuous, Rubinkowski’s adventurous debut crackles with tension and yearning. I was so transported into Strana’s icy world, I saw my breath in the air as the pages flew by." - Erin A Craig

"The Bright & the Pale is an action-packed adventure set in a richly detailed world where you never know who to trust and the twists keep coming! I was riveted right up until the final startling page." - Amy Ewing


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Jessica Rubinkowski's The Bright & the Pale


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors