book cover of The Shadow Hour
Added by 8 of our members

The Shadow Hour

(2016)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Rachel Rhys' The Dangerous Crossing and Victoria Hislops's Cartes Postales from Greece, NOW AT THIS SPECIAL EBOOK PRICE

It was in the shadow hours of deepest night that this tapestry of lies fell to rags . . .

Harriet Jenner is just twenty-one when she walks through the gates of Fenix House. Reeling from a personal tragedy, she doesn't expect her new life as a governess to be easy. But she certainly does not foresee the spell Fenix House will cast.

Almost fifty years later, Harriet's granddaughter Grace follows in her footsteps. For Grace, raised on Harriet's spellbinding stories, Fenix House is a fairy tale; a magical place suspended in time.

But the now-faded grandeur of the mansion soon begins to reveal the holes in Harriet's story and Grace finds herself in a place of secrets and shadows. For Fenix House hides truths about her family, and everything that she once knew is about to change.

Praise for The Shadow Hour

'I was immediately drawn in by this beautifully written tale. I loved the sense of intrigue and the air of mystery at Fenix House, and was itching for answers as the two narratives unfolded' Dinah Jefferies

'A perfect gothic, big-house mystery that kept me turning the pages' Katherine Webb

'It's wonderful - the dark suspense and evocative descriptions are perfect' Liz Fenwick

'We loved last year's The Girl in the Photograph and this latest atmospheric saga is just as thrilling' Essentials

'Intelligent, poignant, unexpected: highly recommended' Louise Candlish

'Beautifully written and utterly compelling, I loved this' Katie Fforde

'Gorgeously written - Kate's evocative storytelling held me rapt until the very end' Lucy Diamond

'Full of dark intrigue, rich description and haunting secrets, this kept me reading and reading! Beautifully written and compelling until the end. I adored it' Ella Harper

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Rich and atmospheric, this novel casts an enduring spell." - Rachel Hore


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Season of Darkness
(Gaslight Mystery, book 1)
Cora Harrison

Used availability for Kate Riordan's The Shadow Hour

Paperback Editions

February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
ISBN: 1-4059-1744-X / 978-1-4059-1744-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
ISBN: 0-7181-7929-3 / 978-0-7181-7929-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

September 2016 : UK Audio CD

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
ISBN: 1-4450-5900-2 / 978-1-4450-5900-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


February 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


February 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


February 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

February 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Shadow Hour
Author(s): Kate Riordan
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU