book cover of After the Shot Drops

After the Shot Drops

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen's mission to create a better life for his family. Written in the tradition of Jason Reynolds, Matt de la Pena, and Walter Dean Myers, After the Shot Drops now has 3 starred reviews!

Bunny and Nasir have been best friends forever, but when Bunny accepts an athletic scholarship across town, Nasir feels betrayed. While Bunny tries to fit in with his new, privileged peers, Nasir spends more time with his cousin, Wallace, who is being evicted. Nasir can't help but wonder why the neighborhood is falling over itself to help Bunny when Wallace is in trouble.

When Wallace makes a bet against Bunny, Nasir is faced with an impossible decision - maybe a dangerous one.

Told from alternating perspectives, After the Shot Drops is a heart-pounding story about the responsibilities of great talent and the importance of compassion.

Genre: Young Adult Fiction

Praise for this book

"This book isn't just an amazing read; its important." - Jeff Zentner


Used availability for Randy Ribay's After the Shot Drops

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: After the Shot Drops
Author(s): Randy Ribay
ISBN: 1-328-70227-8 / 978-1-328-70227-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: After the Shot Drops
Author(s): Randy Ribay
ISBN: 0-358-10806-3 / 978-0-358-10806-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: After the Shot Drops
Author(s): Randy Ribay
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: After the Shot Drops
Author(s): Randy Ribay
Publisher: Listening Library
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: After the Shot Drops
Author(s): Randy Ribay
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU