book cover of A Ship of War
Added by 1 of our members

A Ship of War

(2012)
(Take, Burn or Destroy)
(The third book in the Adventures of Charles Hayden series)
A novel by

 
 
A Ship of War is a stunning new maritime adventure from Top Ten bestselling author Sean Thomas Russell, following the great success of A Battle Won and Under Enemy Colours. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian, A Ship of War is the third instalment in the electrifying historical series of Charles Hayden and the Themis.

'Hayden kept his eye fixed upon the chasing ship...The screech of an iron ball passed narrowly by. There was no room now for error'

1794. As the terror rages in France, Captain Charles Hayden leaves Plymouth with orders to gather intelligence from a spy off the Le Havre coast. But the enemy lies in wait. In the foulest of weather, Hayden's seamanship is tested to the limit and a terrifying cat and mouse chase begins.

Faced with a powerful French squadron Hayden knows he must elude capture at any cost. In his possession are details of an imminent attack on British soil which must be delivered before all is lost.Ahead lie shipwrecks, storms, battles and dramatic escapes - and at the centre of it all, the courage and heroism of a lone captain . . .

A Ship of War is the brilliant third tale in the epic maritime adventures of Charles Hayden. A masterpiece already rivalling the stories of Bernard Cornwell and Patrick O'Brian.




Genre: Historical

Similar books by other authors

thumb
A Fine Retribution
(Alan Lewrie, book 23)
Dewey Lambdin
thumb
An Onshore Storm
(Alan Lewrie, book 24)
Dewey Lambdin
thumb
Persephone
(Thomas Kydd, book 18)
Julian Stockwin

Used availability for S Thomas Russell's A Ship of War

Hardback Editions

May 2013 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Take, Burn or Destroy (A Charles Hayden Novel)
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-399-15896-0 / 978-0-399-15896-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2012 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Ship of War
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-7181-5749-4 / 978-0-7181-5749-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2014 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Take, Burn or Destroy (The Adventures of Charles Hayden)
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-425-26853-5 / 978-0-425-26853-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2013 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Ship of War: Charles Hayden Book 3
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-241-95206-9 / 978-0-241-95206-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2012 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Ship of War: Charles Hayden Book 3
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
ISBN: 0-7181-5750-8 / 978-0-7181-5750-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

May 2013 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Take, Burn, or Destroy: Adventures of Charles Hayden, Book 3
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


May 2013 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Take, Burn, or Destroy: Adventures of Charles Hayden, Book 3
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


October 2012 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Ship of War
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


October 2012 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Ship of War
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


October 2012 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Ship of War
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


2001 : UK Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Ship of War (Unabridged Audiobook)
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell, narrated by Nick Boulton
ISBN: 1-4712-1674-8 / 978-1-4712-1674-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Whole Story Audiobooks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2013 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Take, Burn or Destroy (A Charles Hayden Novel Book 3)
Author(s): S Thomas Russell
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   


March 2012 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Ship of War: Charles Hayden Book 3
Author(s): Sean Thomas Russell
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU