book cover of Web of Lies
Added by 80 members
 

Web of Lies

(2021)
(The first book in the Sebastian Clifford series)
A novel by

 
 
A trail of secrets. A dangerous discovery. A deadly turn.

Police officer
Sebastian Clifford never planned on becoming a private investigator. But when a scandal leads to the disbandment of his London-based special squad, he finds himself out of a job. That is, until his cousin calls on him to investigate her husband’s high-profile death to prove that it wasn’t a suicide.

Clifford’s reluctant to get involved, but the more he digs, the more evidence he finds. With his ability to remember everything he's ever seen, he's the perfect person to untangle the layers of deceit.

He meets
Detective Constable Bird, an underutilised detective at Market Harborough’s police force, who refuses to give him access to the records he’s requested unless he allows her to help with the investigation. Clifford isn't thrilled. The last time he worked as part of a team it ended his career.

But with time running out, Clifford is out of options. Together they must wade through the web of lies in the hope that they’ll find the truth before it kills them.

Web of Lies is the first in the Detective Sebastian Clifford series. Perfect for readers of Joy Ellis, Robert Galbraith and Mark Dawson.

What readers are saying about
Web of Lies:

I hadn't come across Sally Rigby before – my loss! I thoroughly enjoyed the characters and the plot. I read the whole book in two sittings as I had difficulty putting it down.’ Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Another brilliant crime book by Sally Rigby. Kept me engaged throughout and once started I could not put it down (I literally read this book in 1 day). Lots of twists and turns throughout the book to keep the reading guessing and engaged.’ Reader review, ��⭐⭐⭐⭐

A great page-turner! Loved this book as it's well written, would also make a great TV series… So looking forward to reading the next book in the series.’ Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐���

I love Sally’s writing style. It’s fast-paced and exciting. The twists and turns keep you guessing until the end. The characters are likeable and complex and, more importantly, believable.’ Reader review, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘This book helped me to get out of my “funk”. I really missed reading and
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It's easy to read and engaging.’ Reader review, ��⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I have loved all of Sally Rigby’s books – the Cavendish & Walker series is
amazing and wondered if the new one, Web of Lies featuring the new character Sebastian Clifford, would match up to it. YES IT DOES! Loved the book so much and now can’t wait for the follow-up! Sally does it again! Brilliant.’ Reader review, ⭐⭐���⭐⭐

Genre: Mystery

Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Sally Rigby's Web of Lies


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors