book cover of The Hanging Cage
Added by 4 of our members

The Hanging Cage

(The fourth book in the Northminster Mysteries series)
A novel by

Summoned to the bleak market town of Whithorne in the midst of a winter storm, Major Giles Vernon and police surgeon Felix Carswell are embroiled in another challenging investigation.
A beautiful young heiress has been found dead in her bed, and although suicide seems the most likely cause, the circumstances soon point to a tangle of illicit relationships and painful secrets. As Major Vernon pursues the truth behind Annabella Barker's death, further shocking events soon unfold, including another suicide At the same time, called in to deliver a son and heir, Carswell is drawn into the affairs of the eccentric Yardley family at Whithorne Castle, but it is no distraction from his anxieties about his troubled relationship with Sukey Connolly. Major Vernon, for his part, unexpectedly encounters an old acquaintance and is forced to question both his past and his future.
When a partial skeleton is found in a culvert, events begin to take a still darker turn, and Vernon and Carswell must pursue an unimaginable evil. As November floods threaten the bridges of Northminster itself, dangerous enemies emerge close to home and the struggle for justice becomes a matter of life and death.
The Hanging Cage is the fourth Northminster Mystery, featuring early Victorian detectives Vernon and Carswell.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

Hell Gate
(Ingo Finch Mystery, book 3)
Jeff Dawson
The Outcast Girls
(World's End Bureau Victorian Mystery, book 2)
Alys Clare
Murder at Queen's Landing
(Wrexford & Sloane Mystery, book 4)
Andrea Penrose

Used availability for Harriet Smart's The Hanging Cage

Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Hanging Cage (The Northminster Mysteries Book 4)
Author(s): Harriet Smart
Publisher: Anthemion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU