book cover of The Lark Ascending

The Lark Ascending

A novel by

When Chris Adam recieves a proposal from wealthy young Guy Lindsay, her family are delighted - this would be a fine match indeed for a daughter of the Manse. Chris is tempted, for she is attracted to Guy, but her vocation is to be a composer, and instead of marriage she chooses to study music in Edinburgh.
There Chris meets Angus Bretton, who has been sent down from medical school in disgrace. Though he seems strangely restrained after the passionate Guy, Chris falls deeply in love with him, and it is Angus who comes to her rescue when events conspire against her and all her dreams are in ruins. But Angus is not all that Chris imagines him to be and their happiness is shortlived. A chance meeting with Guy gives Chris a glimpse of the fulfilling life she might have had - but now Guy is married to one of Chris's friends.
As war breaks out across Europe in 1914, tragedy, betrayal and scandal lie ahead before Chris can fulfil her musical destiny and stand by the side of the man she loves.

Genre: Sagas

Used availability for Harriet Smart's The Lark Ascending

Hardback Editions

May 1995 : UK Hardback

Title: The Lark Ascending
Author(s): Harriet Smart
ISBN: 0-7472-1297-X / 978-0-7472-1297-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   

Paperback Editions

November 1995 : UK Paperback

Title: Lark Ascending
Author(s): No Author Provided
ISBN: 0-7472-4891-5 / 978-0-7472-4891-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

June 2011 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Lark Ascending
Author(s): Harriet Smart
Publisher: Anthemion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU