book cover of The Witches of Pitfeldry
Added by 5 of our members

The Witches of Pitfeldry

(The eighth book in the Northminster Mysteries series)
A novel by

In the spring of 1842, Felix Carswell and Major Giles Vernon arrive in the picturesque village of Pitfeldry in the Scottish Highlands with their families, expecting a well-deserved holiday. But it is not long before they are forced back to work when a local woman is found lying dead on a lonely hillside. The victim is a respected member of the tight-knit community and the identity of her killer is a mystery. At the same time, Felix is confronted with a disturbed young girl who claims that she is being possessed by the Devil, and her younger sisters begin to display the same symptoms.
Carswell's adopted father, the Rector of Pitfeldry, is fearful that something unearthly is unfolding in the usually tranquil and remote glen, echoing a witch-hunt two hundred years earlier that claimed the lives of twenty women. It is up to Giles and Felix to find the truth of the matter, as a succession of puzzling and shocking events come frighteningly close to home.
The Witches of Pitfeldry is the eighth compelling Northminster Mystery by Harriet Smart.
What readers say about the Northminster Mysteries:
"Each novel leaves me hungering for the next."
"LOVED the series! Interesting beyond compare!"
"I've fallen so much in love with the Victorian Northminster world that Harriet Smart created. It all feels so real - from the main heroes to the support cast of butlers, mothers-in-laws, constables - every character is fleshed-out. The medical cures used, traditions, society norms put readers right there in the 1800s. And yet, some of the political and ideological discussions would not be passe even in modern times. It seems a sad thing that I've finished Book #7 and so far, I won't have any more mysteries to read... Please write more!"

Genre: Historical Mystery

Used availability for Harriet Smart's The Witches of Pitfeldry

Kindle Editions

December 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: The Witches of Pitfeldry (The Northminster Mysteries Book 8)
Author(s): Harriet Smart
Publisher: Anthemion
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU