book cover of One Day You\'ll Burn
Added by 5 of our members

One Day You'll Burn

(2020)
(The first book in the Tully Jarsdel series)
A novel by

 
 
"A brilliant first novel. Joseph Schneider's contemporary writing evokes some of Hollywood's most classic crime stories, from Chinatown to LA Confidential."—Dick Wolf, creator of Law & Order

An incredible debut from up-and-coming author Joseph Schneider. Detective Tully Jarsdel may not be a typical Los Angeles cop—but he's the only one who can solve this case

A body so badly burned that it could be mistaken for a movie prop... except for the smell. That's not something California law enforcement finds lying on the street every day. And when Detective Tully Jarsdel is called to the scene, it's clear to him that something about the placement of the corpse is intentional, even ritualistic. Jarsdel isn't a classic noir detective, but his former career in academia seems to finally be coming in handy, rather than serving as material for jokes from his partner, Morales.

But nothing Jarsdel learned in school can prepare him for the deep evil behind this case, which appears to be as hopeless as it is violent. As Jarsdel and Morales attempt to settle their differences and uncover the motive behind the horrendous crime, they find themselves dragged into the underbelly of a city notorious for chewing up and spitting out anyone dumb enough to turn their back on survival.

One Day You'll Burn is a shimmering debut that captures the glitz and squalor of Los Angeles while introducing an unforgettable detective readers will rank among the best in the genre.

The first in the LAPD Detective Jarsdel series, this detective mystery is:
  • For readers who love murder mysteries and police procedurals

    Perfect for fans of Michael Connelly and Lawrence Block

    For fans of the T.V. series Bones and C.S.I


  • Genre: Mystery

    Similar books by other authors


    Used availability for Joseph Schneider's One Day You'll Burn

    Paperback Editions

    February 2020 : USA Paperback
    thumb

    Title: One Day You'll Burn (LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel Mysteries, 1)
    Author(s): Joseph Schneider
    ISBN: 1-4926-8444-9 / 978-1-4926-8444-2 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    Audio Editions

    February 2020 : USA Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: One Day You'll Burn (LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel, 1)
    Author(s): Joseph Schneider
    ISBN: 1-69058-157-3 / 978-1-69058-157-4 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    February 2020 : USA Audio CD
    thumb

    Title: One Day You'll Burn (LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel, 1)
    Author(s): Joseph Schneider
    ISBN: 1-69058-161-1 / 978-1-69058-161-1 (USA edition)
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media
    Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


    February 2020 : USA Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: One Day You'll Burn
    Author(s): Joseph Schneider
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon   


    February 2020 : Canada Audio edition
    thumb

    Title: One Day You'll Burn
    Author(s): Joseph Schneider
    Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
    Availability: Amazon CA   


    Kindle Editions

    February 2020 : USA Kindle edition
    thumb

    Title: One Day You'll Burn (LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel Mysteries Book 1)
    Author(s): Joseph Schneider
    Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
    Availability: Amazon