book cover of The Secrets of Wishtide
Added by 35 of our members

The Secrets of Wishtide

(2016)
(The first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and James Runcie's Grantchester Mysteries, the first novel in a clever new crime series about Victorian London and an indomitable female detective.

Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in London with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Bentley, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator.

Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family's new governess--quickly making herself indispensable. But the seemingly simple case--looking into young Charles Calderstone's “inappropriate” love interest--soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family's secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most.

Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthrall and delight.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable." - James Runcie

"Kate Saunders immerses us in Victorian England in this delightful new series. You'll love Laetitia Rodd and her charming cohorts as they unravel an intriguing tangle of mysteries to save the innocent and punish the guilty. I couldn't put it down!" - Victoria Thompson


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Kate Saunders's The Secrets of Wishtide

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Secrets Of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-78541-570-0 / 978-1-78541-570-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide (Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-4104-9508-6 / 978-1-4104-9508-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide: A Novel (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-63286-449-5 / 978-1-63286-449-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2016 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide: 1 (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-4088-6686-2 / 978-1-4088-6686-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secrets Of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-78541-576-X / 978-1-78541-576-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Ulverscroft Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery): Kate Saunders
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-4088-6687-0 / 978-1-4088-6687-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


September 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide (Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-63286-451-7 / 978-1-63286-451-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2016 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-4088-7916-6 / 978-1-4088-7916-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

October 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide: Booktrack Edition
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


October 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide: Booktrack Edition
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


December 2016 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Secrets of Wishtide, The (Laetitia Rodd Mystery (1))
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-5200-5516-1 / 978-1-5200-5516-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Secrets of Wishtide, The (Laetitia Rodd Mystery (1))
Author(s): Kate Saunders
ISBN: 1-5200-5520-X / 978-1-5200-5520-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 2016 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


October 2016 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide: A Novel (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


July 2016 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Secrets of Wishtide: The Laetitia Rodd Mysteries 1 (A Laetitia Rodd Mystery)
Author(s): Kate Saunders
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU