book cover of Barry\'s Deal

Barry's Deal

(2017)
(A book in the Amazing Conroy series)
A Novella by

 
 
Awards
Nebula Awards Best Novella (nominee)
"A science fiction caper in the tradition of Heinlein and Harrison that is both exciting and thoughtful." - Kyell Gold, twelve-time winner of the Ursa Major award

"Schoen combines SF and humor with Cirque Du Soleil skill and elicits more than a few belly laughs." - Jonathan Brazee, author of THE UNITED FEDERATION MARINE CORPS series

"If you only read 26,000 words this month, you should probably read more. Also, spend all those 26,000 words on 'Barry's Deal.' - Howard Tayler, Hugo winner and creator of SCHLOCK MERCENARY

Barry's Deal is the fourth novella-length adventure from multiple Hugo and Nebula nominee Lawrence M. Schoen and the next installment in the ongoing tales of galaxy-travelling stage hypnotist, the Amazing Conroy, and Reggie, his alien companion animal, a "buffalo dog" who can eat anything and farts oxygen.

In this sequel to BARRY'S TALE (2014 Nebula nominee) Conroy and his buffalito, Reggie are travelling to Triton, to a casino hotel with old friend LeftJohn Mocker, a professional gambler with a double Coltrane rating. Why Triton? Well, there's an illegal auction scheduled there where Conroy hopes to win a bottle of Stonefish liquer, and the Mocker was on his way there anyway at the request of the Probability Guild to investigate allegations of cheating. It looks like everyone will get what they want except... the cheater turns out to be none other than Angela Colson, an eleven-year old girl of incredible power. Conroy saved her life five years earlier with her plushie buffalito, Barry. Somehow she's back, somehow appears to be in her late teens, and somehow has taken the casino for over ten million bucks!

Throw in an evil psychometrist portmaster with a grudge against LeftJohn Mocker, a stinky alien with a secret, and a terrorist with a suitcase-sized nuke, and the state is set for hypnotic hijinks and some fine dining as only The Amazing Conroy can command.



Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Stone Sky
(Broken Earth, book 3)
N K Jemisin
thumb
Jade City
(Green Bone Saga, book 1)
Fonda Lee

Used availability for Lawrence M Schoen's Barry's Deal

Paperback Editions

October 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Barry's Deal
Author(s): Lawrence M Schoen
ISBN: 0-9915001-7-2 / 978-0-9915001-7-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: NobleFusion Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Barry's Deal (The Amazing Conroy)
Author(s): Lawrence M Schoen
Publisher: NobleFusion Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU