book cover of Last Place You Look
Added by 12 of our members

Last Place You Look

(2021)
(The first book in the Butler & West series)
A novel by

 
 

The man you love has been murdered. You’d do anything to find out the truth. Wouldn’t you?

A man lies dead in a hotel room, and the police attend his home address to inform the widow. Nothing unusual, until DC Freya West realises that the victim is the man she has been having an affair with. The future she imagined has been snatched away.

Meanwhile, her new boss, DS Robin Butler, is preoccupied with his own problems. Mistakes he thought were buried deep in his past now threaten to be exposed. Before long, both Butler and West are keeping secrets that could end their careers – and worse.

When the detectives have a chance to tell the truth, they choose to keep quiet. But once that line is crossed, is there any going back? After all, breaking the law is easy when you know how to uphold it.

Don’t miss this tense and compulsive police procedural thriller. Perfect for fans of Sunday Times bestselling authors Cara Hunter, Susie Steiner and Jane Casey.

Praise for Last Place You Look

‘This is punchy, police procedural stuff: just as her protagonists don’t play by the book, so Scarr takes the traditional set-up into darker, dirtier, more intriguing terrain.’ Hampshire Living

‘A superbly crafted, perfectly paced thriller... The fact that Butler & West have just as much to hide as the people they hunt, makes this such a compelling read, and the start of a captivating new series that’s hooked me in from the very first book.’ Robert Scragg

‘The delicious joy of discovering a brilliant new crime series! ... Our detectives, Butler and West, are a duo for our days; bound by their troubles, loneliness and secrets into an unlikely alliance. You’ll fall for them, and this novel, in a big way!’ Jo Furniss

‘Tightly plotted with superb characterisation … It’s a book you won’t be able to turn away from until you reach the very last page.’ Alison Belsham

Fantastic story and characterisation with a pair of detectives who are battling their own demons amidst an apparent suburban suicide’ James Delargy

‘The darker side of suburbia shows its underbelly in this gritty domestic thriller. A procedural with a kick in its tail!’ Rachael Blok

‘Crime fans are going to love Last Place You Look … believe me, this is a detective team you’re going to want to meet again and again.’ Amy McLellan



A seriously pacy plot and a tangled case that defies expectation.

I eagerly await the next installment in this gripping and perfectly written series.’ Heather Critchlow

‘I was not expecting that! I was just so invested in the brilliant partnership of Butler and West that I couldn’t put it down…. together they’re dynamite. I was kept on my toes the whole time, not sure where the story was going, and there were so many twists along the way that I was expecting a shocking ending… and yet I still didn’t see what was coming!’ Elle Croft

‘An exciting page turner and entirely believable police procedural thriller featuring a new pair of detectives whose secrets are as mysterious as those of the criminals they are trying to hunt. Highly recommended.’ A. J. Park

‘If you like tense, complex and compulsive procedurals with well observed characterisation this is definitely the book for you! A great start to a promising series.’ N. J. Mackay

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Tightly plotted with superb characterisation … It’s a book you won’t be able to turn away from until you reach the very last page." - Alison Belsham

"The darker side of suburbia shows its underbelly in this gritty domestic thriller. A procedural with a kick in its tail!" - Rachael Blok

"I was not expecting that! I was just so invested in the brilliant partnership of Butler and West that I couldn’t put it down…. together they’re dynamite. I was kept on my toes the whole time, not sure where the story was going, and there were so many twists along the way that I was expecting a shocking ending… and yet I still didn’t see what was coming!" - Elle Croft

"Fantastic story and characterisation with a pair of detectives who are battling their own demons amidst an apparent suburban suicide." - James Delargy

"The delicious joy of discovering a brilliant new crime series! ... Our detectives, Butler and West, are a duo for our days; bound by their troubles, loneliness and secrets into an unlikely alliance. You’ll fall for them, and this novel, in a big way!" - Jo Furniss

"If you like tense, complex and compulsive procedurals with well observed characterisation this is definitely the book for you! A great start to a promising series." - NJ Mackay

"Crime fans are going to love Last Place You Look … believe me, this is a detective team you’re going to want to meet again and again." - Amy McLellan

"An exciting page turner and entirely believable police procedural thriller featuring a new pair of detectives whose secrets are as mysterious as those of the criminals they are trying to hunt. Highly recommended." - A J Park

"A superbly crafted, perfectly paced thriller... The fact that Butler & West have just as much to hide as the people they hunt, makes this such a compelling read, and the start of a captivating new series that’s hooked me in from the very first book." - Robert Scragg


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Louisa Scarr's Last Place You Look

Paperback Editions

May 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Last Place You Look: A gripping police procedural crime thriller: 1
Author(s): Louisa Scarr
ISBN: 1-80032-346-8 / 978-1-80032-346-9
Publisher: Canelo
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Last Place You Look: A gripping police procedural crime thriller (Butler & West Book 1)
Author(s): Louisa Scarr
Publisher: Canelo Crime
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU