book cover of My Mother\'s Shadow
Added by 4 of our members

My Mother's Shadow

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Addie thinks she knows everything about her mother. But when a stranger appears claiming to be her sister, she realises that her life so far has been a lie. But why?

'Intriguing, twisting... I loved it' Dinah Jefferies. 'A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose' Erin Kelly. 'A well-written, intriguing read full of family secrets... Brilliant' Fabulous

A NO. 1 BESTSELLER IN NORWAY

A BESTSELLER IN ISRAEL

Perfect for fans of BEFORE WE WERE YOURS by Lisa Wingate.

Hartland House has always been a faithful keeper of secrets...

1958. Sent to beautiful Hartland to be sheltered from her mother's illness, Liz spends the summer with the wealthy Shaw family. They treat Liz as one of their own, but their influence could be dangerous...

Now. Addie believes she knows everything about her mother Elizabeth and their difficult relationship until her recent death. When a stranger appears claiming to be Addie's sister, she is stunned. Is everything she's been told about her early life a lie?

How can you find the truth about the past if the one person who could tell you is gone? Addie must go back to that golden summer her mother never spoke of...and the one night that changed a young girl's life for ever.

'A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s' Sheila O'Flanagan.

'Trembles with family secrets' Victoria Fox

What readers are saying about My Mother's Shadow:

'One of the most enthralling, heartbreaking booksthat I have read in quite some time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'The poignant storylineisdeeply affecting. Definitely a book that is going to stay with me for a long time' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'So beautifully written. In places it made me laugh out loud and in other places it made me cry. Poignant' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'I was hooked from beginning to end!Vivid characters and evocative scenes make this an enchanting read' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'Stunning and emotional' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

'This novel absolutely blew me away! I was left emotional and teary. It had me gripped from the startand is loaded with scenes that pull at the heartstrings! I cannot recommend this novel enough' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

'A stunning read and I can't wait to read more from this author' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Trembles with family secrets." - Victoria Fox

"Intriguing, twisting...I loved it." - Dinah Jefferies

"A gripping family mystery told in lush, evocative prose." - Erin Kelly

"A compelling family story... Beautifully written and evokes vivid pictures of an English summer in the 1950s." - Sheila O'Flanagan


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Blue Hour
(Merci Rayborn, book 1)
T Jefferson Parker

Used availability for Nikola Scott's My Mother's Shadow

Paperback Editions

September 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything
Author(s): Nikola Scott
ISBN: 1-4722-4116-9 / 978-1-4722-4116-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything
Author(s): Nikola Scott
ISBN: 1-4722-4297-1 / 978-1-4722-4297-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow
Author(s): Nikola Scott
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow
Author(s): Nikola Scott
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow
Author(s): Nikola Scott
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2017 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow
Author(s): Nikola Scott
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything
Author(s): Nikola Scott
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2017 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: My Mother's Shadow: The gripping novel about a mother's shocking secret that changed everything
Author(s): Nikola Scott
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon CA