book cover of You Don\'t Live Here
Added by 1 of our members

You Don't Live Here

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Robyn Schneider, author of The Beginning of Everything, delivers a witty and heartbreaking tale of first love, second beginnings, and last chances in this timely and authentic bisexual coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera.

In Southern California, no one lives more than thirty miles from the nearest fault line. Sasha Bloom is standing right on top of one when her world literally crumbles around her. With her mother now dead and father out of the picture, Sasha moves in with her estranged grandparents.

Living in her mom’s old bedroom, Sasha has no idea who she is anymore. Luckily, her grandparents are certain they know who she should be: A lawyer in the making. Ten pounds skinnier. In a socially advantageous relationship with a boy from a good family—a boy like Cole Edwards.

And Cole has ideas for who Sasha should be, too. His plus one at lunch. His girlfriend. His.

Sasha tries to make everything work, but that means folding away her love of photography, her grief for her mother, and he growing interest in the magnificently clever Lily Chen. Sasha wants to follow Lily off the beaten path, to discover hidden beaches, secret menus, and the truth about dinosaur pee.

But being friends with Lily might lead somewhere new. Is Sasha willing to stop being the girl everyone expects and let the girl beneath the surface breath through?

Genre: Young Adult Romance

Praise for this book

"A heartfelt bisexual triumph, You Don't Live Here navigates grief and growing up with tenderness and charm. Sasha's high school journey is too real, and every emotion resonates." - C B Lee

"In You Don't Live Here, Robyn Schneider writes about sexuality, self-discovery, and how to survive having a family with wit, charm, and remarkable tenderness. A perfect book for anyone who's ever found herself somewhere she never meant to end up-- and had to figure out how to make a home for herself there anyway." - Zan Romanoff

"This is the book I wish I'd had when I was growing up. Robyn Schneider's thoughtful exploration of family, sexuality, and self is for anyone who's ever wondered who they are. You Don't Live Here will break your heart . . . and then put it back together again." - Amy Spalding

"A vulnerable, funny, and deeply human story about learning to be who you truly are. Sasha Bloom is close to the author's heart and you can tell. Schneider lovingly guides her through loss, isolation, first love, and self-acceptance with remarkable skill — and plenty of hugs and high-fives along the way. Her best book yet." - Tamara Ireland Stone

"This gorgeous story of romance and renewal nestled within the California coast is everything readers expect from Robyn Schneider and more, with a wonderfully human heart wrapped in witty, immersive writing. A uniquely personal novel from an inimitable voice." - Emily Wibberley


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Robyn Schneider's You Don't Live Here

Hardback Editions

June 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
ISBN: 0-06-256811-6 / 978-0-06-256811-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2021 : USA Paperback

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
ISBN: 0-06-256812-4 / 978-0-06-256812-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
ISBN: 1-09-416079-2 / 978-1-09-416079-5
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
ISBN: 1-09-416080-6 / 978-1-09-416080-1
Publisher: HarperCollins B and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here: Library Edition
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
ISBN: 1-09-416078-4 / 978-1-09-416078-8
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: You Don't Live Here
Author(s): Robyn Schneider
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA