book cover of The Bone Fire
Added by 3 of our members

The Bone Fire

(2019)
(The fourth book in the Somershill Manor Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
The brand-new Oswald de Lacy medieval thriller, for fans of C. J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S. J. Parris.

1361. Plague has returned to England - 13 years after the devastation of the Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster.

The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed.

And then a murderer strikes.

Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice.

Suspenseful, evocative, compelling, The Bone Fire is a superb historical crime novel from the author of City of Masks.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Execution
(Giordano Bruno, book 6)
S J Parris
thumb
The King's Evil
(Ashes of London, book 3)
Andrew Taylor
thumb
Sword of Kings
(Last Kingdom, book 12)
Bernard Cornwell
thumb
The Sword Saint
(Empire of Salt Trilogy, book 3)
C F Iggulden

Hardback Editions

July 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire
Author(s): S D Sykes
ISBN: 1-4736-7999-0 / 978-1-4736-7999-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire: A Somershill Manor Mystery (The Somershill Manor Mysteries)
Author(s): S D Sykes
ISBN: 1-64313-197-4 / 978-1-64313-197-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire
Author(s): S D Sykes
ISBN: 1-4736-8000-X / 978-1-4736-8000-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire: Oswald de Lacy, Book 4
Author(s): S D Sykes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon CA   


July 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire: Oswald de Lacy, Book 4
Author(s): S D Sykes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2019 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire: A Somershill Manor Mystery (The Somershill Manor Mysteries)
Author(s): S D Sykes
Publisher: Pegasus Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Bone Fire: Oswald de Lacy Book 4
Author(s): S D Sykes
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU