book cover of Stop Pretending

Stop Pretending

(1999)
What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
A novel by

 
 
One night her sister goes crazy
One night her world falls apart


It happens just like that, in the blink of an eye. An older sister has a mental breakdown and has to be hospitalized. A younger sister is left behind to cope with a family torn apart by grief and friends who turn their backs on her. But worst of all is the loss of her big sister, her confidante, her best friend.

In the tradition of The Bell Jar, and I Never Promised You a Rose Garden, comes this haunting first book, inspired by the true story of the author's life. It's an intense and brutally honest story, told in a succession of powerful poems that take us into the cyclone of the narrator's emotions: grief, anger, guilt, resentment, horror, and ultimately, acceptance .


Get it on Google Play

Similar books by other authors

thumb
Akata Witch
(Akata Witch, book 1)
Nnedi Okorafor

Used availability for Sonya Sones's Stop Pretending

Hardback Editions

1654 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-613-34979-2 / 978-0-613-34979-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Turtleback Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


April 2008 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 1-4352-3288-7 / 978-1-4352-3288-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Paw Prints 2008-04-11
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2001 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-606-20416-4 / 978-0-606-20416-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Demco Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


July 2001 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What happened when my big sister went crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 1-84255-046-2 / 978-1-84255-046-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion Children's Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


February 2001 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-7569-4250-0 / 978-0-7569-4250-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Perfection Learning
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 1999 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-06-028387-4 / 978-0-06-028387-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Harpercollins Childrens Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


October 1999 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-06-028386-6 / 978-0-06-028386-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

July 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-06-446218-8 / 978-0-06-446218-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2002 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What happened when my big sister went crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 1-84255-075-6 / 978-1-84255-075-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion Children's Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


June 2001 : UK Paperback

Title: Stop Pretending: What happened when my big sister went crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 1-84255-083-7 / 978-1-84255-083-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orion Children's Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


2000 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Stop pretending: What happened when my sister went crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
ISBN: 0-439-25070-6 / 978-0-439-25070-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Scholastic
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

February 2011 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Stop Pretending: What Happened When My Big Sister Went Crazy
Author(s): Sonya Sones
Publisher: HarperTeen
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA