New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
<< Previous bookNext book >>

Concentr8

(2015)
A novel by

 
Awards
YA Book Prize Best Young Adult (nominee)
In a future London, Concentr8 is a prescription drug intended to help kids with ADD. Soon every troubled teen is on it. It makes sense, doesn't it? Keep the undesirable elements in line. Keep people like us safe from people like them. What's good for society is good for everyone.

Troy, Femi, Lee, Karen, and Blaze have been taking Concentr8 as long as they can remember. They're not exactly a gang, but Blaze is their leader, and Troy has always been his quiet, watchful sidekick - the only one Blaze really trusts. They're not looking for trouble, but one hot summer day, when riots break out across the city, they find it.

What makes five kids pick a man seemingly at random - a nobody, he works in the housing department, doesn't even have a good phone - hold a knife to his side, take him to a warehouse, and chain him to a radiator? They've got a hostage but don't really know what they want or why they've done it. And across the course of five tense days, with a journalist, a floppy-haired mayor, a police negotiator, and the sinister face of the pharmaceutical industry, they - and we - begin to understand why....

This is an audiobook about how we label children. It's about how kids get lost and failed by the system. It's about how politicians manipulate them. Gripping and controversial listening for fans of Malorie Blackman and Patrick Ness.

 
Similar Books by other authors...


Fire Colour One
Jenny Valentine

The Curious Tale of the Lady Caraboo
Catherine Johnson

Heart Break Girl
(Boys Don't Cry, book 2)

Malorie Blackman

The Rest of Us Just Live Here
Patrick Ness
 
Used availability for William Sutcliffe's Concentr8


See all available used copies of this book at Abebooks UK or Abebooks US
 

Hardback Editions

January 2016 : USA Hardback
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
ISBN: 1-61963-919-X / 978-1-61963-919-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

August 2015 : UK Hardback
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
ISBN: 1-4088-6623-4 / 978-1-4088-6623-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Paperback Editions

June 2016 : UK Paperback
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
ISBN: 1-4088-6624-2 / 978-1-4088-6624-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

March 2016 : MP3 CD
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
ISBN: 1-5113-7289-3 / 978-1-5113-7289-3
Publisher: Audible Studios on Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

January 2016 : UK Audio edition
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
Publisher: Audible Studios for Bloomsbury
Availability: Amazon UK   

Kindle Editions

January 2016 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   

August 2015 : UK Kindle edition
thumbTitle: Concentr8
Author(s): William Sutcliffe
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens
Availability: Amazon UK   


Search for