book cover of The Jarrow Trilogy

The Jarrow Trilogy

(A book in the Jarrow Trilogy series)
An omnibus of novels by

Passionate tales of love, heartache and survival against the odds, The Jarrow Trilogy follows the lives of 3 remarkable heroines and their families from the dire poverty of Victorian dockyards through the momentous times of the First and Second World Wars to the changed world of 1950s Britain. Gripping, emotional and uplifting, the Trilogy is inspired by Catherine Cookson, her mother and grandmother.
The Jarrow Lass: Brought up on her parents' smallholding in Jarrow in the harsh years of the 1870s, selling vegetables to poverty-struck Irish labourers such as the unruly McMullens, Rose dreams of the world beyond the grime of the town, a world she glimpsed at a fairytale wedding on the Ravensworth Estate as a child. Capturing the heart of handsome and respectable steelworker William Fawcett, it seems her wish for a better life is finally within reach. But tragedy strikes, and to save her young family from destitution, Rose must turn to wild John McMullen. THE JARROW LASS is the first novel in the JARROW TRILOGY and is inspired by Catherine Cookson's grandmother.
A Child of Jarrow: To escape her possessive and drunken step-father, Kate is sent away from teaming Jarrow to work on the Ravensworth Estate. She is soon attracting the attention of charming, headstrong Alexander and dares to dream of a future with him. But when Kate discovers herself pregnant and alone she must return to face the wrath of her step-father. Yet she refuses to give up hope that one day Alexander might return to claim her and their love child. Poignant and compelling, A CHILD OF JARROW is the second in the JARROW TRILOGY.
Return to Jarrow: Rebellious Catherine (Kitty) McMullen, resentful of her mother's new husband and yearning to escape impoverished Jarrow, determines to educate herself. Soon streetwise Kitty is a ghost of the past and the well-spoken, well-read Catherine leaves the north-east to follow her dreams. But this plucky and romantic heroine encounters hardship and heartbreak on the road to self-discovery. RETURN TO JARROW concludes the bestselling trilogy.

Similar books by other authors

The Seed Woman
(Seed Traders' Saga, book 1)
Petra Durst-Benning

Used availability for Janet MacLeod Trotter's The Jarrow Trilogy

Kindle Editions

May 2012 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition

Title: THE JARROW TRILOGY: all 3 enthralling sagas in 1 volume; The Jarrow Lass, A Child of Jarrow & Return to Jarrow
Author(s): Janet MacLeod Trotter
Publisher: MacLeod Trotter Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU