book cover of For Those Who Are Lost
Added by 31 members
 

For Those Who Are Lost

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
"A compelling story of love, courage and forgiveness. Highly recommended." —Historical Novel Society

"A sure bet for readers of personal war stories and those who want to know, 'What about the women and children?'" —Booklist

Inspired by true events, For Those Who Are Lost begins on the eve of the Nazi invasion of the island of Guernsey, when terrified parents have a choice to make: send their children alone to England, or keep the family together and risk whatever may come to their villages.

Ava and Joseph Simon reluctantly put their 9-year-old son, Henry, and four-year-old daughter, Catherine, in the care of their son's teacher, who will escort them on a boat to mainland England. Just as the ferry is about to leave, the teacher's sister, Lily appears. The two trade places: Helen doesn't want to leave Guernsey, and Lily is desperate for a fresh start.

Lily is the one who accompanies the children to England, and Lily is the one who lets Henry get on a train by himself, deciding in a split second to take Catherine with her and walk the other way. That split-second decision lingers long after the war ends, impacting the rest of their lives.

Perfect for readers of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, For Those Who Are Lost is at once heartbreaking, thought-provoking, and uplifting.



Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Julia Bryan Thomas has ensured that readers of For Those Who Are Lost will never forget the children of Guernsey displaced during World War II. This is a captivating and complex story about family, about deception, about flawed characters in inconceivable circumstances, and about the power of love to both damage and heal." - Kelly Mustian

"This richly layered story about losing, finding and forgiving unfolds when a Nazi threat to an innocent island off the coast of France is imminent. Desperate action is taken and children are sent into the unknown where destinies are altered. Then the isolation and pressures of a tedious war beget heartaches and heroes. For Those Who Are Lost is riddled with secrets and sins for the sake of survival. Kudos to Thomas for a poignant and compelling read." - Leah Weiss


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Julia Bryan Thomas's For Those Who Are Lost


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors