book cover of The Iron Fortress
Added by 2 of our members

The Iron Fortress

(2019)
(The first book in the Tales of Valour: The Great War series)
A novel by

 
 


Based on the incredible story of a British heavy tank trapped before the German trenches. For three days her crew fight against the might of the German Army.



The Allies launch a massive offensive on the Western front, and Captain Richardson, a battlefield veteran of the trenches leads four heavy tanks on a brazen assault through no-man’s-land. It's an attack that could shatter the German defences and create an opening for Allied soldiers to pour through and hasten the end of the war.

One tank after another is destroyed, until just one remains. But in the last moments of battle they’re trapped directly in front of the German front line. The crew can neither advance nor retreat as the tank sinks deeper into the mud, all while shells and bullets rain down all around it. The German Army is regrouping for a massive counterattack, and Richardson’s tank F41 is stranded right in front of them. The Germans besiege the tank for three days as they try to force their way inside with every weapon at their disposal. The tank is no longer a mobile fighting machine, but instead an Iron Fortress that is moments away from being overwhelmed.

Inspired by the true events and people of World War I, writer Michael G. Thomas creates a thrilling tale of heroism and brutal warfare during the early tank battles of The Great War. Iron Fortress is based on the thrilling atory of the heroic crew of tank F41 in August 1917 as they fight a desperate battle, alone and outgunned, in the middle of the infamous Battle of Passchendaele.

An action packed novel of the First World War filled with detailed historical research and so realistic you’ll think you’re there in the mud of no-man’s-land. Perfect for fans of Harold Coyle, Alexander Fullerton, David McDine and Alan Evans.


Early praise for The Iron Fortress: 

'A Realistic, brutal and thrilling account of the early days of tank warfare in the penultimate year of The Great War. This book evokes the realism and violence of Harold Coyles' Team Yankee, released back in 1987 ' - Eric Meyer

Genre: Historical

Used availability for Michael G Thomas's The Iron Fortress

Paperback Editions

August 2019 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Iron Fortress: (Tales of Valour: The Great War Book 1) Based on The Incredible True Story of WWI
Author(s): Michael G Thomas
ISBN: 1-08-676577-X / 978-1-08-676577-9
Publisher: Independently published
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

January 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Iron Fortress: Based on the Incredible True Story of WWI
Author(s): Michael G Thomas
Publisher: Swordworks Books
Availability: Amazon   


January 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Iron Fortress: Based on the Incredible True Story of WWI
Author(s): Michael G Thomas
Publisher: Swordworks Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Iron Fortress: Based on the Incredible True Story of WWI
Author(s): Michael G Thomas
Publisher: Swordworks Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Iron Fortress: Based on the Incredible True Story of WWI
Author(s): Michael G Thomas
Publisher: Swordworks Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Iron Fortress (Tales of Valour: The Great War Book 1)
Author(s): Michael G Thomas
Publisher: Swordworks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU